We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winds Resort Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Winds Resort Beach Club to your Saves list
The Winds Resort Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend planned a surprise trip for us to Ocean Isle to celebrate my birthday. He told me where we were going and where we were staying on the way down. I'm big on reviews and proceeded to look at reviews for The Winds. I did get a little nervous while reading some of the reviews but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Upon check in, the ladies at the desk were friendly and gave us a map of the resort with points of interest circled. The room was spotless and I didn't see a bug our entire time there. We were there during hurricane Sandy so we stayed indoors the entire trip except to go out for meals. The bed was comfy and housekeeping came in to give us fresh towels and removed our trash while we were in the room. Our housekeeper also put a towel down at the doorway because of the messy weather outdoors. This was refreshing considering most housekeepers speed off at the sight of a guest in the room during their cleaning time. I do suggest that if you are looking for an ocean view, don't stay on the first floor. Dunes blocked our ocean view on the first floor, which wasn't a big deal for us, we were just looking to relax and celebrate. Overall, if you're looking for some place clean, comfy, relaxing, and you're on a budget, The Winds is a great place to stay. If you want action and entertainment every night, drive down to Myrtle.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We appreciate the kind things you had to say about our housekeeping staff and our helpful front desk staff. We regret that you experienced some unfortunate weather due to Hurricane Sandy, but luckily here in North Carolina we only got some mild storms and rain. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and got to relax on your vacation. We look forward to having you back, hopefully next time with some better weather!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    87
    37
    17
    22
See reviews for
168
156
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our first vacation at The Winds Resort, but definetly not our last. We had a wonderful time and mostly because of the hospitality that was shown to all of us from Ohio by the staff. From the front desk employees, to housekeeping, to the grounds keeper, to the bartenders at the Tiki Bar, to the kitchen staff. We feel as though we made friends with a lot of your staff. The palm trees and the beautiful flowers around the entire resort gives you the feeling that you are at a tropical island. Our room was very clean, and taken care of daily all week long. We were ocean front with a beautiful view. The complimentary breakfast each morning was hot, and delicious with a wide variety of choices. Everyday we had lunch poolside at the Tiki Bar with a nice selection to eat as well. We can't wait to plan another trip to see all of you again!!! We wish we would have known about this wonderful place years ago.
Anita & Jeff Price
Massillon, Ohio

Room Tip: Ocean Front Hibiscus Room 2nd and 3rd floors. Great views, quiet with very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to The Winds Resort so much! You said in your review that, "We feel as though we made friends with a lot of your staff," Well I believe you are correct! Our front desk staff and the bartenders kept saying how sad they were to see you all go! Thank you for all of the wonderful comments about our resort, our free breakfast, and the tiki bar! We can't wait to have our Ohio-ans back down here at The Winds! We look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this thus far "undiscovered" upper middle class, quiet, NC beach,
being absent, since 1996. Nothing has changed (that is good) strict zoning, and really with the land sold out, it is very well preserved, I chose The Winds Resort, because I got a deal with a
oceanfront room #406, "off season" the week of October 4, 2012. The insulation was most
effective, as, the resort was sold out, due to a wedding there. Upon checking out, I left a Nat
Nast special order all silk shirt hanging in the closet, and, the front desk clerk, shipped the shirt to me within 48 hours. The already most hospitable staff, I was very impressed with anyway.
The landscaping, of semi-tropical trees and flowers, even non native cactus, was lush, with much attention received, as I own some of the same plants, and, they are quite sensitive, in the
Carolinas. I would return here, for sure, due to the quietness, location, reasonable prices. Note,
the better views are the oceanfront rooms, on at least the 2nd floor, as the sand dunes, obscure
the direct view of the Atlantic Ocean, along with the extensive floral garden of semi tropical plants. Suggestions for best ocean view: Rm 105,106,107,108, 209,210,211,212,413,414,415,416,417, 418. All of these rooms are oceanfront, all on the 3rd floor!!! Complimentary hot breakfast is another perk, for everyone!!! There is a relatively new
Lowe's Supermarket, across the expansive bridge that crosses the Intracoastal waterway, where you can buy food, for the fully equipted kitchen, only about 2 or 2.5 miles away!!!

Room Tip: Family friendly, utensils are in the kitchen cabinets. They honor AAA discount card, is you are a me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Robert,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. Your kind words about our staff and our grounds are appreciated. We do pride ourselves on our staff and how their passion for helping our guests and for up keeping our extraordinary gardens. The oceanfront rooms that are on upper floors do provide some of the best views of the ocean and are truly wonderful and relaxing! We are glad you made it back to Ocean Isle and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Every year, in October, my husband and I take the family to The Winds. We were so looking forward to our trip this year and once again the six days were perfect. The six bedroom house works out so well with my four grandchildren ages 5, 3, 2, and 1. The staff is wonderful and extremely cooperative, the beach is a bit of heaven. The eleven of us have so many wonderful memories of all our years at The Winds, starting with the three bedroom and working our way up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It makes all of us happy to hear that you and your family had such a great stay with us! We are glad that we can be the site for such a special time for your family. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. We hope your grandkids treasure the memories of Ocean Isle and the time they spent with their family for many years to come. We look forward to having you back to stay with us soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here back in the spring and had such a great time we decided to come back for fall. As before we were not disappointed! This time we stayed in a small suite on the ocean side. It had bedroom with a king bed and a separate living room on the ocean side with a small mini kitchen. It was very nice. We enjoyed their tikibar by the pool and the bartender, George even remembered us from last spring! The room was very clean and comfortable and everyone form the front desk to the maids were very friendly. The breakfast was very good with eggs and bacon fruit cereal etc. at the tikibar they had sandwiches and salads that were freshly made with generous portions

This is great place to get way and feel like you went to a tropical island without all the hassle of flying and airports!

We will be back next spring if not sooner.

Room Tip: This hotel has a great variety of room choices. It was a little difficult to decide which kind of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We are so glad that you had such a great time and got to enjoy such a wonderful time of year at Ocean Isle Beach!

We really appreciate your kind comments about our accommodations, our bartenders, and our breakfast! We love to hear that our guests keep coming back time after time!

We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation in spring!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. I wouldn't necessarily call it a "resort" but it was nice. Since it was off season there wasn't much to do. We enjoyed the jacuzzi in our room & the tiki bar the best-i just wish it stayed open longer. It was a lot of older ppl and families there so if you are looking for a "hip" place, this def isn't it. I was a littke worried bc of all the bug reviews however, we had no problems at all-never even seen a bug the whole week. The employees were all super nice and sweet and rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily. Overall, we had a blast and glad we chose The Winds for a quiet honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your honeymoon with us! And thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. Some people define resort differently. Many small resorts in the islands are of similar feel to ours, however, we really do try to make it clear that we are not a big, resort chain type of property. We are a smaller resort - family owned and operated.

In October, it is a slower pace at Ocean Isle Beach compared to our summer season. But it is a relaxing time to be at the beach since the weather is still wonderful and there are no crowds of people.

We appreciate your kind words about our property and our staff very much. We hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in the future! Congratulations to you both!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in August after getting a late booking,with a room facing the pool and beach.Very little noise from the pool with very good air conditioning and a well fitted and clean bathroom.With a free breakfast and a superb beach this turned out to be a perfect midweek break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. We take great pride in keeping our rooms and our property clean and we work very hard to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winds Resort Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.