We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dingy smelling rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Isle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wadesboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“No dingy smelling rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We wanted a quick inexpensive trip to the beach while the weather was still beautiful here in NC, called here and booked for 49 bucks a night. Got to the room and the floors are all TILE! I cannot tell you much cleaner the room is without carpet! Great ocean view and only two stories high. I requested a room near the elevator and on a lower floor and no problem at all. GREAT little place for a quick getaway, indoor pool was great, breakfst is standard but I never base my ratings on continental breakfast. The kids eat cereal and yogurt, I eat a waffle and my wife eats a bagel. Juice, milk, coffee and wala, we are happy. Yes you can hear the doors slam and the walls a bit thin. It's a beachfront hotel people! If you want extreme quiet rent a beach house. You'll pay alot more than this place charges for a very clean simple little place to take a trip to. I gave it 5 stars for cleanliness, location, and value. We will definitely return as always, GOD willing!

Room Tip: They have corridoors between buildings, if you have small kids or multiple small kids, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your kind words about our property. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and found us to be a "great little place for a quick getaway." We agree that having tile in our rooms keep them cleaner and smelling fresher. We're glad you noticed! We look forward to having you with us during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    90
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
112
90
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hi there. I stayed here this past weekend and I absolutely loved the location and the view ( I was 2nd floor, oceanfront). The room was lovely and very accomodating. Only problem was the loud, rude, drunk and obnoxious people in the adjoining room that screamed and yelled profanities constantly, and even as early as 7am! During one of their conversations, it was said that someone had already complained about the noise so I thought that they were going to be asked to leave... but they weren't. I was shocked. I was very tempted to ask for a refund due to this situation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you taking time to offer us your comments about your recent stay with us. We are regretful that your stay was less than stellar due to the guests in the room next to yours. We do take every complaint of this nature very seriously and we diligently strive to remedy this situation as soon as it is brought to our attention. We would have been more than happy to secure other accommodations for you in our property. Sometimes dealing with guests that become to noisy due to alcohol presents its own unique situation, as we would never want to put a guest that has been drinking behind the wheel of a car and endanger others. We sincerely apologize that you experienced an unpleasant stay with us and we were glad that you gave our management the opportunity to speak with you personally about this matter. Hopefully, if given the opportunity to be of service to you again, you will have the quiet, relaxing stay that our guests expect.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Ocean Isle Inn for a week and loved waking up to the rising sun and the seascape. We had an ocean view room on the second (top) floor and enjoyed the small but adequate balcony. The room was clean and the room service was good. The sounds of voices, etc. carried from adjoining rooms and the hallways. There are lots of stairs and doors in these units as they are built on pilings (typical of seaside dwellings in this area). We were annoyed at the number of times doors from adjacent units and stairways were slamming shut (worse on weekends). The breakfast provided was pretty standard for some hotels and was well monitored and restocked.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are great. Second floor rooms require a lot of stair climbing, although there is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found your stay with us enjoyable and were able to appreciate the amazing sunrises Ocean Isle is blessed with. We do apologize for any noises that may impeded upon your relaxation. We are working on ways to address this. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had not been to Ocean Isle in years. THis place was clean, so conveniently located, updated, and the staff was so accomodating for a family reunion. Lee, I think, the manager, was a wonderful host. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. Our entire staff strives to make each guests stay as memorable as possible. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time while with us. We look forward to having you and your family with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Both my husband and I fell in love with the island and OIB Inn. We will be back!! Even though we were there during Hurricane Sandy, we still had a wonderful time and staff could not have been better! They upgraded our room because we did not cancel despite the hurricane!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for giving us your review about your recent stay with us. It's a pleasure to know that you fell in love with our property. Although hurricane Sandy was of little impact to our area we were still concerned. We were happy to be able to upgrade you to an oceanfront room to enjoy the view of ocean. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Brother & three sisters got together for a much needed reunion. We could not have asked for anything nicer. The rooms were beautiful & the staff went above and beyond our expectations. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and made check in & out a breeze.
What impressed us the most was the manager made it a point several times during the weekend to seek us out and ensure that all was going well. I've never stayed anywhere else that has given such personal attention. Needless to say we have made plans to do this again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you taking time to share you thoughts about your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to host your family group at our property. We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and assure they have a memorable time with us. It pleases us to know that we succeeded for your group. We look forward to having you with us again during your family's next get-to-together in Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the third time staying here and were really enjoy it. The first 2 times we had beach view rooms and this time a sound view (which was fine since were got in late and left the next day) which was a bit bigger than the ocean view. Rooms are very clean and beds were very comfortable.
Bathrooms are large and water pressure was good.
Adjoining rooms are available.
We did not eat breakfast here but walked through the breakfast area. I grabbed a milk to go and it was hot so I had to throw it out.
The outdoor pool area was nice and the beach lovely.
I would recommend a top floor room since the floors are tile and you can here people waling around if they have hard soled shoes on.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room. Ocean views are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to offer us your comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time while with us. Repeat business such as yours lets us know that we must be doing something right. We look forward to having you with us again for your 4th visit to the Ocean Isle Inn.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Address: 37 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Isle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.