We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a great view !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights for $99.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for a great view !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ocean Isle is a little over halfway between Myrtle Beach and Wilmington. Of course I traveled during the off season, so I know I got a pretty good price. But I think the hotel was great. very friendly staff. my room is clean every morning. I have no complaints about this hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach, which as you said is located conveniently located between Myrtle Beach and Wilmington. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    107
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
108
135
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was Thanksgiving get away. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was great and view was spectacular! Don't expect plush, thick towels but you can expect a relaxing stay. Very reasonably priced for our ocean front room. The staff were all friendly. The breakfast choices were OK and it was quite good. I will plan stay again the next time I am in that area.

Room Tip: The elevator is located in building two out of 7, so if you want it to be convinent, stay in the 1-3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn.We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Balcony your room had. Glad to hear you had a great thanksgiving getaway here with us at the Islander Inn Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

After selling our vacation place, we were quite not ready to leave the beach, so checked into the Islander Inn. The location is excellent, on a very nice section of the beach itself, and close to restaurants, etc. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. The TV was not so great, but who cares when the views and opportunities all around are so wonderful. Breakfast was OK and the price was good. While searching for a new vacation home, we will certainly plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your ocean front room room.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This is not a glitzy hotel but it is a clean, quiet hotel with a spectacular view! Don't expect plush, thick towels but you can expect a relaxing stay. Very reasonably priced for our ocean front room. The staff were all friendly. The breakfast choices weren't as healthy as I'd like but for a "help yourself" type set up it was quite good. Indoor heated pool and jacuzzi were perfect! We arrived on October 31 and left on November 2 and we will back!

Room Tip: No snack machines on the premises but there is a soda machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn, especially our indoor heated pool and hot tub. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards
Islander Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This inn had location, cleanliness, good parking. Breakfast could have been a little better. My real problem was not being able to receive my AAA discount. The clerk at checkout said I could use it but I had pre paid and he could not perform that function. After returning home I checked the booking web site and it did not offer rate choices. I called the management and they responded that since I had used a third party booking I could not receive the AAA rate. The moral to the story is to call the hotel/inn before booking.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Pretty good hotel. Beautiful ocean view. NIceTiki bar and gazebo. Good location- within walking distance of local restaurants - pier- and attractions. Continental breakfast could have been better. Rooms were clean and neat. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Only one elevator - located in the second unit. Required a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

First, the price for a oceanfront establishment is very good. The staff were also quite friendly and attentive. The room was very clean, as well.

Now, having stayed here back in 2002, I have noticed the place starting to either show it's age or not being as well taken care of as is needed for an oceanfront hotel.

- The pool area needs work. The fences, gates, and pool deck all need refurbishing.

- The tile in the hallways need to be replaced.

- New paint needed in the hallways and rooms.

- Rooms need general upgrading.

- Buildings 6 and 7 suffer from weak wireless internet signal.

We stayed at their twin next door, Ocean Isle Inn, last year and it seems, while they are not as friendly or clean, the rooms and pool area is better maintained. It will be difficult to decide with hotel to stay at next year, as we are quite fond of Ocean Isle. We might go for a oceanfront beach house instead.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the front desk, pool building as the wireless internet suffers from a weak s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. We painted all of our ocean front rooms and right now we are doing all the sound side rooms plus all the hallways. As you can appreciate we are an oceanfront hotel and the salt air plus the beach is very hard on us, that being said we do have a full time maintenance staff who are always keeping up with the issues we have. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.