We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fall weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Save Saved
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely fall weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to islander inn last weekend with another couple. Weather was great, no crowds. Lots of weddings, though, and that was fun to watch, as we are almost 37 years married and other couple is almost 39 years. Staff is great, they do allow dogs in one of the buildings, but you cannot tell if dogs have stayed there. We go back to Ocean Isle every September for a quick trip before Fall really sets in.

Room Tip: Restaurant rating is for breakfast which is included,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful and that you enjoyed watching some of our great weddings.We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    92
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
95
116
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Isle Inn from September 8-12 in room 6105. The room faced the ocean and the balcony area was so nice - also very clean (no bugs or dirt). We sat out there and enjoyed our view of the ocean. The room was a cool temperature, very clean, and suited our needs well while we were at the beach. We had our four year old son with us for our vacation. The room was cleaner that any other room that we have stayed in so I was totally amazed by that since I am an OCD neat freak. The cleaning staff was wonderful to us and we had to leave late a few mornings after they started cleaning the rooms but they were so nice and came back after we left. We enjoyed the outdoor pool and the gazebo area over looking the ocean. The beach was lovely and almost empty we had no problem finding a nice spot to hang out for the day. The front desk staff was kind, professional, and responded quickly when I noticed some dripping from an upper floor in the pool area (drips from cleaning the balcony areas).

The bathroom door has some peeling paint at the bottom and some rusty looking spots but the room was nice otherwise although some of the furnishings were out of date and a little worn...I find this charming but some of the other posters did not like this but nothing was broken, wobbly, or had holes in it which is what mattered to me. The mattress/pillows were a bit uncomfortable but I am used to sleeping on a memory foam bed so I guess I am spoiled there. The bed was clean so I have no complaints. The other folks mentioned the air conditioner noise, yes it was noisy but it was white noise and helped us sleep better. We noticed that it drowned it some of the noise outside as well in the room when we went on the balcony one night to hear some loud guests outside so we found it helpful. The door to the balcony stuck a few times but that could have been me as my husband seemed to have no problem with it. We liked the shaded parking under the units and going up and down the stairs was good exercise.

The only thing that happened that made me uncomfortable was a suspicious guest following me around on the first day so I kept to the lighted areas and stayed close to my husband. Creeper came by the pool and stared at my son swimming for a while which made me uncomfortable but there was an emergency phone by the pool and it is close to the front office so I was not worried since he kept his distance. The outdoor pool was not lit up like the other areas at night but there was enough light from the surounding areas to make it easily visible. He eventually wondered off and we noticed him leaving the hotel. So the only suggestion I would have is maybe a roaming security guard and a few lights out by the pool? Other than that our stay was delightful and the creepy guest was not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us with your family.We appreciate your compliments on how clean our rooms are,and also about our pool and Gazebo area.We have such a wonderfull beach and enjoy nothing more than sharing it with folks like yourselves.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The place was ok but nothing special. I thought by the reviews and the hotel ranking that it would be better. The oceanfront view was nice. The stairs and/or the long walk to the elevator in building two would be a problem for anyone who is not in the best of shape. I find it strange they feel the need to have cameras in the breakfast area and the indoor pool area.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing lots of stairs get a room in building one or two and on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.In regards to the cameras in the indoor pool they are there so we can make sure that there are no unattended children in the hot tub. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is def a place that I will be back to. I like the fact its in a smaller community, not a touristy area like Myrtle Beach so less traffic. It was quiet, we were on the top floor so no need to worry about noise. We had a bay facing room, no biggy, I knew we would get that. The only thing Im not crazy about is having to eat my breakfast in the breakfast room. For some reason you cant take it back to your room, which is very unusual, but whatever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your "Bay Facing" room.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Got a room with a balcony view of the ocean, it was cool inside 'temp-wise' but the humidity was very high and the bedding and carpet felt damp and dank to the touch. They have an 'in-the-wall' unit for heating and cooling and it's kind of loud and annoying when running. There is no return air ducts so even though the temp is cool feeling, the humidity is still noticeably present. When you sit out on the balcony in the cheap plastic chairs and the 'unit' kicks on, it blows warm air at you and is annoying and loud.
The furniture provided in this double queen room was cheap looking and sure enough, when I pulled on the drawer to open one up, it stuck. And so did the one at the desk area.
The bathroom was clean looking, I used the shower and was disappointed once again when that big ole shower head produced only a steady trickle of water. Four trickles actually. I could and did use it, but it took awhile.
Overall, the beach and weather were great, I love the area, and the room rate was around $100 a night. There are several good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked.We are however pleased to hear you did enjoy our beach.We did'nt have any issues with the water pressure when you were here as far as we know.It is city water.Had we known we would have done what we could to get it fixed.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I find it hard to truly rate hotels against each other because the locations and context vary so much. Compared to other hotels in the area, this certainly is one of the best. Yes, the rooms are a little bit older and the water pressure is laughable, but that's about all the negatives I have personally about this place. It is always clean and the staff has always been excellent to us. The location is very convenient to walk to other attractions like the pier, shops, kayak rentals, and a handful of restaurants. Of course, it is a very short walk to the beach just over the dunes. During the summer (and maybe other times too), there are many, many weddings at this hotel - which means there are many guests there having a good time. We have never been bothered by them or by excessive noise, but that may be an exception. There is an indoor pool and spa as well as an outdoor pool with a tiki bar (which is sometimes too convenient). We have stayed in both ocean front and sound view rooms. The ocean front are nice because they have a balcony and of course great views. The sound view room is the same size but with no balcony. Overall, we really enjoy this hotel and continue to return yearly.

Room Tip: Oceanfront in Buildings 1,2,3 *may* have more noise because of the outdoor pool - but this has not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was an enjoyable one.Thank you for complementing on the cleanliness of both our rooms and the hotel grounds.We aspire to be the best hotel on the island and all of your feedback is greatly valued.We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our "Tiki Bar". Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed labor day weekend. Could not get towels for some reason. All we had were 3 for the entire stay. 1 of those was for the bath mat. Also there were never any towels at the pool. Hot tub was way too hot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked.We do have plenty of towels and we will look into as to why you only had 3 towels during your stay.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Also Known As:
Islander Hotel
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach
Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.