We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location not much else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Save Saved
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed labor day weekend. Could not get towels for some reason. All we had were 3 for the entire stay. 1 of those was for the bath mat. Also there were never any towels at the pool. Hot tub was way too hot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked.We do have plenty of towels and we will look into as to why you only had 3 towels during your stay.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    95
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
100
120
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned home from a two night stay at the Islander Inn. This was our second trip to Ocean Isle and though we really liked the Winds Resort, where we stayed last time, we decided to try the Islander Inn, based on the many good reviews. The Islander Inn was nice enough and I do want to give it a good review but there were too many little things that prevent me from giving it a 4 or 5 star review.

The good: As noted in other reviews, even though the hotel is a bit old and dated, the grounds and pool areas were kept quite clean. Our room was also clean, something you don’t always find at beach hotels. The view from our oceanfront balcony was superb. The folks at the front desk were also courteous and friendly. The hotel is a fairly good value compared to other ocean front hotels in terms of costs.

The bad: even though the hotel is old, there is no excuse for the following; our bathroom door had rust on one side. The door to our balcony is not user friendly and hard to open. My wife has RA and could not open the door. There were no tissues in the room, something every hotel should have for their guests. Perhaps the thing that bothered me the most was a sign in the room letting the guests know that if you break anything you will be held responsible. Really?? I felt like I was back in school. Is it not common knowledge that if you break something you will be held responsible?

Speaking of signs, there was one in the breakfast room telling guests they were forbidden from taking food out of the breakfast room. My wife and I have been guests at dozens and dozens of hotels and have never seen a sign telling us we couldn't take food out of the breakfast room. I like to get up early and go down and get coffee and danish or muffins to take back to the room. What possible reason would the hotel have for not allowing that?

Another thing I would like to mention, when staying in a bottom floor room, be advised, the floors upstairs are rickety and the noise from upstairs guest's can be overwhelming. Apparently, there were drunken wedding party guests above us on our first night and the noise levels were ridiculous and didn't stop until after 3 in the morning. I do not blame the hotel as I did not call to report the problem. When I told them the next day; they were apologetic. The guests on our second night were much more reasonable yet their movement was still loud. I am only putting this in my review because I wish I had been warned.

Lastly, though not a big deal in of itself; since I’m doing a compilation of little annoyances I should mention that our room keys did not work the second night of our stay and we had to go to the front desk to get them re-programmed. Apparently, our keys were only programmed for one night. Again, not a big deal but the little things do add up.

I realize that business is good at the Islander Inn but if they are ever going to aspire to be number 1 in the Tripadviser ratings, they will need to do the little things that make a good resort a great resort. For what its worth, our weekend in Ocean Isle was fabulous. The beaches are as nice as it gets on the East Coast and the town is beautiful and very user friendly especially if you like biking around. This was our 25th anniversarry weekend and we choose Ocean Isle for a reason. We will definitely be back to Ocean Isle in the near future but probably not to the Islander Inn. Like I stated previously; nice hotel and nice people but for my wife and I, not the best choice on the island.

Room Tip: More steps to the 2nd floor rooms but probably much quieter than the bottom floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was an enjoyable one.Thank you for complementing on the cleanliness of both our rooms and the hotel grounds.We aspire to be the best hotel on the island and all of your feedback is greatly valued.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our prior stay in Ocean Isle Beach was three years ago, also at the Islander Inn. The reservation policy is one nights cost is your deposit, charged to your credit card when you make the reservation. The unusual thing is the entire balance (less deposit) for the 7 night stay was charged upon arrival. Further things charged to the room- IE Tiki Hut, was billed to the card the some day as the charge was posted to the room. Had we not been return guests with a very good idea of what we expecting, this might have taken us aback. We had called ahead to mention we were arriving early, they stated they could take our cell number and call us when the room was ready. When we arrived no offer was made to take a phone number, we were just reminded that check in was 3 PM. No worries, we hooked up with Scott, the gentlemen that rents umbrellas and chairs, got under our umbrella and with our cooler made do for the day. A little before 3 we went back to check on the room and it was ready. Though we were in the system from our previous stays, no mention was made of welcoming us back as returning guests. We were in a second floor ocean front room with 2 queen beds. For a seven night stay with 4 adults it is a tight fit, about 6 hangers in one closet, 3 drawers for clothes with a couple upright places to hang more clothes, but no hangers. There was a fairly large flat screen TV, we turned it on maybe twice in the week. It has a small fridge, a microwave across the room, but it frees up the limited counter space near the sink. With 90 plus days the AC worked fine, it blows heat onto the balcony, so if you prefer to be on the balcony, turn off the AC and you will be more comfortable. The balcony is adequate sized, it has a couple plastic chairs and a small plastic table. Later in the week it really cooled off and for the first time in a NC hotel room I had to turn the heat on, this also performed well. We were in building 1 which is right over the pool, noise was very tolerable, a concern we had when we made the reservation. The outdoor pool area was not lit, so it was mostly empty by dusk. The indoor pool is small, but handy if you have kids and it is a rainy day. Proximity to the ocean is the hotels best feature. At night, turn off the AC, open the balcony door and be put to sleep by the sound of the ocean. We returned this time as we knew we would be able to enjoy the ocean and get some rest, the Islander hit the spot. We shopped rates with the hotel next door, which in years past we have stayed at as well, this was less expensive, especially so if you have more than 2 adults in the room. Hotels at the ocean take a beating, all the sand that is tracked in, the rust on metal from the salt- the Islander does a good job of fighting that battle, the rooms are kept clean, they are a bit worn, but not unsatisfactory. There is a discount for staying beyond 5 nights, which due to the lengthy drive, we prefer to stay longer. We noticed very few people stayed more than a couple days with constant turn around. Breakfast has a lot of carbs, Belgium waffles were the big treat, 3 cereal choices, several types of oatmeal, bagels, some pastries, fruit was either a banana or an apple for the week we were there. I enjoyed the little sausage sandwiches on an English muffin. The breakfast changes little to none each day, with enough choices to get by. Almost everyday there was enough tables, always enough food, but earlier is always less crowded. Food is not to be taken from the breakfast area and removed from the breakfast area, it seemed to be mostly staff that ignored this policy, but what a nice employer to provide many of their staff members breakfast. The Tiki bar by the pool was cheap for non-alcoholic beverages, $3.00 for a 12 oz daiquiri, no clue on the prices of the alcohol drinks, did not see a lot of people getting drinks. The exercise room is 3 machines in a small room shared with the ice maker. There is coin laundry on premise, but we did not test it out. The hotel was quite full most of the time we were there in early to mid August. Beyond the one young lady that works in the breakfast area, not a lot of the staff seems to smile much. Housekeeping did a nice job, being in building one, they came on the early side, this was OK as we were up each day. Building 7 at the other end allows pets, not something I would want to deal with on vacation. The elevator is in building two, the path from the parking area to the lowest level to get on the elevator is usually a damp dingy mess, not the best first impression for first time guests. Smoking is prohibited in the rooms and balcony, but is allowed on the pool deck and a few other places. Only a couple times did I smell smoke from the balcony, supposedly there is a fee for smoking in the room, but given the obvious nature of the individual smoking on her balcony in building 2 over the pool, I doubt the staff looks to make waves on this. The gazebo is pleasant, it saw quite a bit of use the time we were there. The hotel next door is pet free and completely smoke free, which will make them a strong consideration for us next time. Final observation- the Wifi service was very sporadic and unfortunately the over night clerk had no clue how to reset the modem, which was very frustrating getting up early to get my work out of the way so I could enjoy most my time at the beach. They said they are reviewing internet service options and hope to have better service next year. there were no hidden resort fees and we were charged exactly as quoted.
Would we come back? Sure, we are very fond of Ocean Isle Beach, the width of the beach, the family friendly community, the proximity to a church service (beach side service just past the neighboring hotel), the ease of getting restaurants (we mostly took the short drive down to Calabash each evening for dinner), There are 42 ocean front rooms, I would highly recommend staying in one of them, the 'bay' side has no balconies, a view of the road mostly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We thank you for writing such a detailed trip advisor so people may get a real good insight to our hotel.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a last minute escape to the beach... googled hotels and found this gem! The hotel and rooms are spotless! The property has an outstanding location, close to everything. We were late booking and had a sound view room, honestly other than not having a balcony is was fantastic! We spent all our time at the beach so we didn't really mind. We loved the Tiki bar out by the pool, just a neat little feature! This hotel was outstanding from the rooms to the service to the location. This will now be our go to beach hotel when we are looking for a quick getaway! Thanks so much Islander for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at our "Gem on the beach" the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful and Fantastic.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Tiki Bar and the view of our wonderful beach.We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second trip to Ocean Isle Beach, second stay at the Islander Inn. Experiences were consistent. Ocean Isle Beach is a pretty area -- very quiet, clean and relaxing. The islander inn is one of the few hotels that we've seen there as most of the lodging are rental homes. The hotel itelsef is made up of several interconnected buildings that are situated directly in front of the beach. There appears to be plenty of parking in their lot, as the hotel was completely booked this past week and we had no problem finding a spot. Check in was quick and easy, however we had a little trouble lugging a heavy suitcase up the 6 flights of stairs to our top-floor room. Later we discovered that there was a single elevator we could have taken, which is a little slow, but would help if carrying a lot to the room. The rooms themselves are spacious and clean, but show their age. On our first trip we had an ocean front room. These have balconies with chairs providing an excellent space to sit, relax and enjoy the scenery. The soundview rooms, however, not only lack view, but have no balcony. Both rooms had refrigerators and microwaves that operated well, but the ocean front room had a larger efficiency-type sink that we found helpful in preparing breakfast and lunches. The hotel offers breakfast each morning in their small dining room, consisting of make-yourself waffles and heat yourself breakfast sandwiches, as well as the usual muffins and cereal options....not a bad breakfast, actually! The hotel features a decently sized pool, deck and chairs to the rear on your way from your room to the beach. The pool is clean and usually filled with lots of kids. There is also a smal tiki-bar, poolside, serving summery drinks. Across from the pool is a nice gazebo, also facing the ocean, with plenty of chairs. We relaxed there a couple of nights after long, night time beach walks.

My overall impression of the hotel is that it is an excellent value for both the degree of cleanliness and the location of the hotel. It is extremely family friendly yet provided a romantic getaway for my yet childless wife and I. We live about 10 hours north, so unfortunately this likely won't be an annual visit, but when we have the energy to make the drive, we will certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We did not plan our stay in NC until about a week prior to our visit and did not expect to find anything great. We could not get an ocean view room because of the lateness of our reservation, but were able to get sound view. What a pleasant surprise we had! The Islander Inn was so clean, the people were exceptionally nice, and the setting was amazing, with a pool, direct access to the private beach, and a tiki bar! In spite of the entire hotel being booked, it was not noisy nor crowded any place! One drawback was the TV. It is on its last breath of life and had reception issues in addition to interruption in watching. Hopefully, the soundview rooms will be upgraded to flat screen TVs soon. Also, we will definitely look for an oceanview room next time. We did not realize how much we like having a balcony until we did not have it. Loved our stay, though! Great beach, very quiet and serene! Thank you, Islander Staff!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, the soundview rooms do not have balconies. Even though they do not overlook the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your sound side room.We were very pleased to hear that also enjoyed our" wonderful beach and our tiki bar" with its relaxing ambiance in the evenings.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is wonderful! Right on the beach. Unfortunately, when we booked it 2 months in advance there were no ocean front rooms left so we booked one on the road side of the building. It was ok. The hotel was very busy and booked solid on the week of our stay, Aug. 4th. The beach front pool was great. The indoor hot tub and pool, not so much. It didn't look too clean and we didn't even go in it. The exercise room was a joke! There were 4 machines stuffed in a large closet! Our hotel room was fairly clean. The only concerning thing was the mold on the inside of the lamp shades which were changed out the 2nd day of our stay. I guess in the ocean air mold can be troublesome. The air conditioning worked really well. The room card keys did not work half the time. The breakfast included in the stay was adequate. It was a nice week for relaxing but definitely not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take all of your feedback seriously, both positive and negative.As far as the lampshades go it is actually rust and not mold, and as you said we changed them out right away.We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach front pool. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.