We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for my wedding.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights for $99
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed here for my wedding.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I came across the Islander Inn online.. I had never visited OIB before but was looking for a quieter beach community besides Myrtle Beach (too busy) to get married and have some time with family and friends. Majority of our guests (about 40 or so) including me and my family had booked with this Inn. There were a few kinks but nothing that couldn't be fixed right away. The staff were great and catered to all of our wedding guests... Islander inn is within walking distance of the local shops and mini golf... Great place for a family. Even though the hotel was booked, it never seemed too overly crowded. Pools were kept clean and overall maintence on the hotel was nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will most likely be back next year for our 1 yr anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle for your 1 year anniversary.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    108
    33
    18
    12
See reviews for
110
137
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I stayed for the very first time at the Islander Inn and it wont be our last. We will defintaly be back. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere at this hotel is very relaxing and clean. You can tell the housekeepers take pride in their jobs. The pools are very clean. The hotel has plenty of parking. They have a gazebo that overlooks the ocean which is very convenient for the ones who wants to view the ocean without getting sandy. They also have an elevator for the ones who isnt able to walk stairs well. They are pet friendly which didn't bother us at all since they have rooms in a certain building for the pet lovers NO complaints at all about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you want to say right on the beach, this is the place for you. We made our reservation the day before our arrival, so staying on the ocean side was not an option. Many others have written about the land side vs. ocean side, but I would like to add that the views from the land side are not bad. I have stayed at other hotels where you look at the wall of the building next door! Our view consisted of the bridge, the marshes, lots of water skiers and boats, and coastal North Carolina. We liked it.

We absolutely loved the beach. It is so much less crowded than Myrtle Beach- and even than other sections of Ocean Isle Beach. In the evening, I sat on the beach and felt nearly alone watching the moon over the ocean. Wonderful. Ocean Isle Beach has maintained a more relaxing ambiance by avoiding high-rise hotels.

I haven't been to many inns like this that offer breakfast. Breakfast was simple, but adequate. The breakfast area was particularly crowded when I went right after it opened at 7 AM. The management was friendly and attentive. Families with younger kids sure seemed to enjoy the pool. It was very hot when we visited, and our room was on the top floor. But, the AC was terrific. In fact, we ended up adjusting it warmer several times.

The Islander has plenty of parking- under the buildings, around the perimeter of the buildings, and at an extra lot across the street. Even when there was a wedding on the premises on a Friday night, we still found a parking spot.

Although the Inn was clean, the carpets could use a deep cleaning in several places. Still, this was minor compared to the many fine characteristics of this establishment. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs. If stairs are tough for you, request a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the waterway etc from your sound side room.We were very pleased to hear that also enjoyed our" wonderful beach" with its relaxing ambiance in the evenings.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is on a beautiful sandy beach. No seaweed or rocks to speak of. The surf was rolling and gentle.
There is both an indoor pool and an outdoor pool.
This is a quite mostly commercial free area. Unlike some of the more visited areas further south.
The hotels and private homes are all built up on stilts giving an indication as what strong storms must come through.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very affordable and family friendly! Relaxing and quiet is exactly what I needed for a refreshing vacation and I got it at the Islander! The hotel is located only feet away from the beach! 1st time at Ocean Isle and it was super clean, quiet, and relaxing. I will be back to both this hotel and beach, but next time with my dog!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony.Next time you come feel free to bring your dog. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Islander Inn is the place to stay if you are visiting Ocean Isle. They are pet friendly which is a plus on my behave, as I love to include my four legged family member on vacation with us. NO worries if you are not a pet friendly person as this hotel set aside one building especially for the pet friendly guest. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is only a few feet from the sand. Make sure you spend the extra money to stay in an ocean front room. I loved sitting on my balcony in the afternoon to watch the sunset. Ocean Isle Beach is the perfect location and the Islander Inn is the best place to stay. You wont regret staying at this friendly hotel. Can't wait to visit again next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ocean front are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are so happy to hear that we were able to accomodate both yourself and your four legged friend.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view fantastic view of our wonderful beach and our pretty sunsets from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Affordable - family friendly - relaxing . Give the inn & town a 10 . . Traveling for a 10 day vacation in 6 states - wish we could have stayed here entire time. Well worth the $$$. Family of 5 from teenagers to 8 - no complaints - no whines . Pay the extra for Oceanside rooms you will kiss yourself for it. .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that we were "THE BEST PLACE YOU EVER STAYED".Also we are happy to hear that your children and the teenagers enjoyed our hotel and beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.