We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First, but not Last, Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Save Saved
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First, but not Last, Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you want to say right on the beach, this is the place for you. We made our reservation the day before our arrival, so staying on the ocean side was not an option. Many others have written about the land side vs. ocean side, but I would like to add that the views from the land side are not bad. I have stayed at other hotels where you look at the wall of the building next door! Our view consisted of the bridge, the marshes, lots of water skiers and boats, and coastal North Carolina. We liked it.

We absolutely loved the beach. It is so much less crowded than Myrtle Beach- and even than other sections of Ocean Isle Beach. In the evening, I sat on the beach and felt nearly alone watching the moon over the ocean. Wonderful. Ocean Isle Beach has maintained a more relaxing ambiance by avoiding high-rise hotels.

I haven't been to many inns like this that offer breakfast. Breakfast was simple, but adequate. The breakfast area was particularly crowded when I went right after it opened at 7 AM. The management was friendly and attentive. Families with younger kids sure seemed to enjoy the pool. It was very hot when we visited, and our room was on the top floor. But, the AC was terrific. In fact, we ended up adjusting it warmer several times.

The Islander has plenty of parking- under the buildings, around the perimeter of the buildings, and at an extra lot across the street. Even when there was a wedding on the premises on a Friday night, we still found a parking spot.

Although the Inn was clean, the carpets could use a deep cleaning in several places. Still, this was minor compared to the many fine characteristics of this establishment. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs. If stairs are tough for you, request a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the waterway etc from your sound side room.We were very pleased to hear that also enjoyed our" wonderful beach" with its relaxing ambiance in the evenings.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    96
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
102
121
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is on a beautiful sandy beach. No seaweed or rocks to speak of. The surf was rolling and gentle.
There is both an indoor pool and an outdoor pool.
This is a quite mostly commercial free area. Unlike some of the more visited areas further south.
The hotels and private homes are all built up on stilts giving an indication as what strong storms must come through.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very affordable and family friendly! Relaxing and quiet is exactly what I needed for a refreshing vacation and I got it at the Islander! The hotel is located only feet away from the beach! 1st time at Ocean Isle and it was super clean, quiet, and relaxing. I will be back to both this hotel and beach, but next time with my dog!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony.Next time you come feel free to bring your dog. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Islander Inn is the place to stay if you are visiting Ocean Isle. They are pet friendly which is a plus on my behave, as I love to include my four legged family member on vacation with us. NO worries if you are not a pet friendly person as this hotel set aside one building especially for the pet friendly guest. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is only a few feet from the sand. Make sure you spend the extra money to stay in an ocean front room. I loved sitting on my balcony in the afternoon to watch the sunset. Ocean Isle Beach is the perfect location and the Islander Inn is the best place to stay. You wont regret staying at this friendly hotel. Can't wait to visit again next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ocean front are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are so happy to hear that we were able to accomodate both yourself and your four legged friend.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view fantastic view of our wonderful beach and our pretty sunsets from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Affordable - family friendly - relaxing . Give the inn & town a 10 . . Traveling for a 10 day vacation in 6 states - wish we could have stayed here entire time. Well worth the $$$. Family of 5 from teenagers to 8 - no complaints - no whines . Pay the extra for Oceanside rooms you will kiss yourself for it. .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that we were "THE BEST PLACE YOU EVER STAYED".Also we are happy to hear that your children and the teenagers enjoyed our hotel and beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Islander Inn consists of seven identical buildings situated directly on the Atlantic Ocean shore of Ocean Isle Beach. The location is phenomenal - walking distance to everything on Ocean Isle Beach and just steps from the beach, itself.
We had an ocean-facing room on the top floor. (There are two floors of rooms, but the first floor is really about 1 1/2 floors up). The room had two queen beds, a small sofa, table with two chairs, flat screen tv, a small refrigerator, a sink along with a full bath. It was nice and adequate for what you'd expect at the shore.
The folks in the office were nice. Breakfast was decent, with a strict policy of no takeout - eat in, only.
The best part of the room was a nice deck with two plastic chairs and side tables looking out over the ocean. Just a great place to sit, relax, read or snooze.
All in all, we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: It's a few dollars more but well worth it to be on the ocean side versus the sound side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony where you could relax.We are happy to hear our continental breakfast was to your liking. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this Inn. They accept dogs for a small one time fee so we were able to bring our puppy!! The staff is super friendly and the breakfast was good. Misha, the breakfast hostess was cheerful and accommodating, she even found special tea for me! We had a balcony room overlooking the ocean and it was perfect for the two of us! The dog was able to be on the beach before 9 am and after 6 pm. A walk to town had several restaurants to choose from and was not far or pricey. We decided to have a late checkout and the fee was minimal and they were quick to assist our request. This is not a fancy place (bed was soft) but it was certainly family and pet friendly! We will definitely stay here again! One drawback was the restaurant they recommended The Isles Beach Club was terrible and very pricey. Service was VERY quick so we couldn't enjoy, small portions and they were warm at best when served. But the hotel was EXCELLENT! Stay there, you won't be disappointed. :)

Room Tip: Ocean view is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are so happy to hear that we were able to accomodate both yourself and your puppy.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view fantastic view of our wonderful beach from your balcony.We will definitely pass on your kind words to mesha in our breakfast room. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.