We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend destination!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Save Saved
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great weekend destination!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this Inn. They accept dogs for a small one time fee so we were able to bring our puppy!! The staff is super friendly and the breakfast was good. Misha, the breakfast hostess was cheerful and accommodating, she even found special tea for me! We had a balcony room overlooking the ocean and it was perfect for the two of us! The dog was able to be on the beach before 9 am and after 6 pm. A walk to town had several restaurants to choose from and was not far or pricey. We decided to have a late checkout and the fee was minimal and they were quick to assist our request. This is not a fancy place (bed was soft) but it was certainly family and pet friendly! We will definitely stay here again! One drawback was the restaurant they recommended The Isles Beach Club was terrible and very pricey. Service was VERY quick so we couldn't enjoy, small portions and they were warm at best when served. But the hotel was EXCELLENT! Stay there, you won't be disappointed. :)

Room Tip: Ocean view is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are so happy to hear that we were able to accomodate both yourself and your puppy.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view fantastic view of our wonderful beach from your balcony.We will definitely pass on your kind words to mesha in our breakfast room. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    96
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
103
122
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is the perfect spot for a family beach vacation. The location is right on the ocean, Beach front rooms have beautiful views. My grandchildren loved this place. They have 2 pools which is great One indoor and one outdoors, So Sunshine or Rain they children can swim and have a great time. The Tiki Hut is a huge hit for the grandkids they had frozen fruit drinks which I know they enjoyed and at a really reasonible price. The staff was excellent. I have no complaints. Will be back next summer for another family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony and enjoyed both of our pools and hot tub. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Islander Inn was a great choice. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean from our balcony. The pools/hot tubs were also clean and enjoyable. Overall it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony and our 2 pools and hot tub. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently took my kids for a week and enjoyed our stay. The room was big and had a nice TV. The balcony was oceanfront and I enjoyed each evening out there after the kids went to bed. It was nice to watch the waves and relax without having to leave the kids alone. The pools were clean and in good condition. Life was easier after we found the elevator. My only two issues: the towels were small and scratchy...and the bed was ok but not a good quality mattress. However, I got used to it. All in all, it was great. I live ocean isle and will go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are always happy to hear from OIB locals like yourself.To hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony makes us very proud of both our hotel and our beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pros: on the beach, good location, close to everything
Staff are friendly and helpful. We also liked the pool area. Nice, relaxed atmosphere at the pool.
Cons: The rooms are in very poor shape--probably some of the worst I have encountered in the U.S. Certainly the worst I have encountered at the $200 a night price range. I don't know why they would let them fall to such disrepair. Rooms advertised as sleeping 5 when they only sleep 4. Why advertise that way?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest.
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take your observations very seriously.We do take pride in our hotel and do our best to keep it in the best possible condition.We are sorry that your room was not to the standard you expected.The problem has been addressed.We were however very glad to hear that you did enjoy our pool. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This review is also for the wedding package that many will probably be interested in. 1st of all, Ocean Isle beach is a great place if you want to be away from creature comforts and just enjoy clean beaches and great local fare. The Islander Inn is not a resort by any means, but the staff are couteous, the rooms are clean and bright (especially the honeymoon suite), the continental breakfast is just that: a waffle maker and some muffins. The location really does make this place and the whole wedding package is a phenominal deal. My wife and I cannot wait to go back again this summer, and we plan to. If you want to get away to a beautiful place where the local ammenities are classy and you like the people you're with, this place is the biz.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your wedding experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here with 4 of my girlfriends for a wedding. The location is great and has a beautiful view. The room was supposed to sleep 5, but beware it only sleeps 4.

You have to pay $15 to check in early and since we were there for a wedding and 5 of us needed to get ready we decided to pay the extra cost.

As I was checking us in, I asked that the bedding would be there for the pull out bed. She said it should be, but call down if it wasn't and they would bring it up. When we got to the room, there was only 2 beds and no pull out couch. I called the lobby and the same girl said that Expedia always says that it sleeps 5 but it only sleeps 4. I asked if they had a rollaway. They said no, but they had a air mattress. Really? $200 a night and one of us has to sleep on a air mattress..but we didn't have any other option...so air mattress it was.

The room was small and really dated. There were not enough mirrors for all of us to get ready. The water pressure was horrible. Not all of the outlets in the walls worked, the hairdryer was broken, there were only 3 sets of towels, there were no shower mats. We also had to call for bedding because when they dropped off the air mattress they didn't bring any bedding. I am typically easy to please (read my other reviews) but I felt like I had the front desk on speed dial.

The next morning we ate breakfast and it was ok. The waffles were good, everything else was premade...

The staff was all really nice and friendly...

We were really disappointed with this hotel, although the location was great...everything else needed work. This would be my last option if I needed to stay in Ocean Isle again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take your observations seriously.However the room that you had was a room with 2 queen beds,the only rooms that have the pull out sleeper sofa is a room with a single king bed.We do have mirrors in both the bathroom and at the wet bar,we are unhappy to hear that they were not large enough to accomodate yourself and your friends.Had we known about the water pressue not being good we would have addressed it right away. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.