We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation of My Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights for $99.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Vacation of My Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Islander Inn was great!
My mother and I wanted to meet the ocean and bring our dogs. What's the point in a vacation if your best friend is not welcome? We didn't want go anywhere that would be too busy or crowded so we could relax. Well, we loved staying at the Islander Inn for a week last August.
The room we used had a very large bathroom and a kitchenette area that was not in the way. The television was situated so it could be viewed from either the bed or the sofa. All the furniture was comfortable. The room was very clean and smelled nice. We had a view from the balcony I never want to forget.
The breakfast that was provided with the stay was delicious. I had fresh waffles and fruit everyday! There were also many, many other breakfast foods and beverages as well.
I was so happy there was a small laundry on site, because when I travel I pack very light. Our dogs were very comfortable there as well.
If the ocean waves get too rough for you, the pools are large enough to swim laps. There are two, one indoor and one out. Also, there are plenty of lounger chairs around the pool areas.There is also a large jacuzzi. I think my mother liked the jacuzzi the most.
All of the employees are very happy so they are nice and friendly. The cleaning staff was especially nice and helped me clean up a little accident my dog had after drinking some ocean water.
Only a few of the rooms are pet friendly, so people with sensitivities to animals need not worry as these rooms are at the far end of the hotel complex. All the parking is very close to the steps up to the buildings. We did not get wet while it was raining when leaving the truck from parking to go inside.
There is an elevator for guests who need it. That is located very close to the office, breakfast room and swimming pools.
We did wander to Myrtle Beach one day for dinner. It is a short drive. I was so glad we chose to stay on Ocean Isle.
Ocean Isle exceeded my expectations. It is so quiet and relaxed. There is no traffic at all. The local residents were very kind and liked to talk. The whole island made myself, my mother and our dogs feel very welcome. I don't think my dog quit smiling the whole stay.
The next time I visit the ocean I will book a stay again at the Islander Inn. Thanks for the memory of the best vacation of my life.

Room Tip: It is well worth a few extra dollars to book an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed "The Best Vacation Of Your Life" at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are glad to be able to accomodate your Pet.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast.We also hope that as you said you will never forget the great view of our beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    107
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
108
135
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for a short visit to Ocean Isle Beach. I was in an oceanfront that had a nice balcony, decent size bathroom, and clean room. The location is quiet and perfect for family beach time, but still close to North Myrtle for the activities/shopping/dining there. Would def stay here again and probably will in August. Btw: it is pet friendly, which is a huge perk for me.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself and are so happy to hear you have already booked your next trip with us.We are glad to be able to accomodate your Pets. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family the first week of April. Though the weather was a little chilly, it was a great trip to the beach. We had an ocean front room and loved sitting out on the balcony and watching the ocean. There's a continental breakfast every morning with great waffles! We never had trouble finding parking. The indoor pool was great for the really cold days. I would definitely recommend staying here. It's a perfect place for a beach trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn.We are happy to hear you enjoyed our "Great Waffles" and the Balcony your room had. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Islander, our previous visit was in December 2012. We had a second floor ocean view room, and the views are amazing! The beds are also very comfortable (a pleasant surprise). The Inn was more crowded this time than it was in December, due to it being spring break, and the staff handled the crowds well, with my only complaint being that the breakfast room ran out of blueberry muffins on our second of four days. The rooms are well appointed with a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, and plenty of towels and toiletries.

One issue we noticed besides the muffins is that we noticed many people coming and using the Inn's parking lot to park in while going out on the beach, rather than using the public parking area a very short distance down the road. Perhaps a placard hung from the rear view mirror of guests cars could help with this?

Altogether, a lovely inn! We have already booked our next stay, and plan on many more.

Room Tip: I suggest the ocean view room, you have a large window to see the ocean with, and with the door crac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself and are so happy to hear you have already booked your next trip with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
We apologize about the blueberry muffins and will make sure we have plenty for your next visit.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, ON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had booked this lodging last year, it was a great stay, back again this year, with another couple in tow-7 days this time with adjoining rooms :) Got just what I had requested in the same building we were in last year, very friendly staff, ready to assist with any query, nice continental breakfast too! Enjoyed the quiet, comfortable laid back setting of being by the beach, beautiful view of the Atlantic from our balcony, great shells arriving on the beach daily ...a shell pickers paradise! The indoor heated pool and whirlpool were great after a day of exploring. Slightly out of the way of the crowd seekers, it was an easy drive to the attractions of Myrtle Beach, returning to the tranquility of our haven to stroll on the beach, watch the birds, enjoy the water and sun. Great choice of eateries within walking distance, good variety on the menus within our little Ocean Isle community. A piece of paradise we will return to again!

Room Tip: our room was on the top floor of a 2 story unit with the breakfast and pool rooms on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our heated pool and hot tub and also our wonderful beach. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was difficult find a hotel that met my family's expectations, but after hours of searching we found the Islander Inn. It was a great stay. They provided oceanfront location, indoor heated pool, breakfast, easy access parking, wifi, and a location close to many of shop and restaurants. The only problem we had was that our remote didn't work for the tv (couldn't get fixed b/c we were told maintenance was not in) and we found previous customers' belongings still in the room. It is a great place to stay if you have a family and/or pets.

Room Tip: Do not choose the soundview room unless you are okay with the sound of passing cars all throughout t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
April 2nd, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this property many times and continue to go back a few times a year. Infact I am surprising my husband the weekend of March 29th for his 45th birthday at this hotel. The rates are so affordable and we can bring our dogs because they have a building set aside for guests with pets for a small/reasonable fee. If you love the beach, this place is perfect. The hotel units stretch out in a long row so you practically walk out of your room, over the sand dune and onto the on huge wide beaches. Did I mention they have 2 pools, (outside and indoor heated), a tiki bar serving drinks (not sure if that is full time or seasonal), free breakfast in the mornings, and free parking conveniently located under your unit. This hotel is all about the beach and southern love. I wouldn't recommend this for high maintenance people that need monogrammed towels and such because you won't find frilly, pompass here, just great people with great rates and a great beach. If you are a beach hound, (no pun intended to the dog lovers) this place is PERFECT!!!! And for those dog lovers, Ocean Isle beach is extremely dog friendly just like this hotel. THANK YOU ISLANDER INN for allowing our furry friends to accompany us. See you March 29th...again!!!

Room Tip: There is a lot of "non-beach" areas to walk your dogs right across from the hotel if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
March 22nd, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf.We are glad to hear you and your "Furry Friends" had such a good time.We were also happy to hear you enjoyed our pools. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.