We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights for $99.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything we wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was difficult find a hotel that met my family's expectations, but after hours of searching we found the Islander Inn. It was a great stay. They provided oceanfront location, indoor heated pool, breakfast, easy access parking, wifi, and a location close to many of shop and restaurants. The only problem we had was that our remote didn't work for the tv (couldn't get fixed b/c we were told maintenance was not in) and we found previous customers' belongings still in the room. It is a great place to stay if you have a family and/or pets.

Room Tip: Do not choose the soundview room unless you are okay with the sound of passing cars all throughout t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
April 2nd, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    105
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
108
134
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this property many times and continue to go back a few times a year. Infact I am surprising my husband the weekend of March 29th for his 45th birthday at this hotel. The rates are so affordable and we can bring our dogs because they have a building set aside for guests with pets for a small/reasonable fee. If you love the beach, this place is perfect. The hotel units stretch out in a long row so you practically walk out of your room, over the sand dune and onto the on huge wide beaches. Did I mention they have 2 pools, (outside and indoor heated), a tiki bar serving drinks (not sure if that is full time or seasonal), free breakfast in the mornings, and free parking conveniently located under your unit. This hotel is all about the beach and southern love. I wouldn't recommend this for high maintenance people that need monogrammed towels and such because you won't find frilly, pompass here, just great people with great rates and a great beach. If you are a beach hound, (no pun intended to the dog lovers) this place is PERFECT!!!! And for those dog lovers, Ocean Isle beach is extremely dog friendly just like this hotel. THANK YOU ISLANDER INN for allowing our furry friends to accompany us. See you March 29th...again!!!

Room Tip: There is a lot of "non-beach" areas to walk your dogs right across from the hotel if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
March 22nd, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf.We are glad to hear you and your "Furry Friends" had such a good time.We were also happy to hear you enjoyed our pools. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Islander Inn is located right on the beach...who could ask for more? We booked a "sound side" room as being right on the beach in March wasn't a priority as we were there on business however, the "sound" was a bit of a misnomer! It was way across the road! The laundry facilities were out of order. Very inconvenient as we were there for an extended stay. The breakfast was adequate. Our room was a little tired. The carpet at the door threshold was ripped and was overall really worn looking. In their defense, I'm sure they are really busy during the "season". Overall it met our needs. We basically slept and showered there. We chose the Islander because they were dog friendly. A 60.00 one time fee.

Room Tip: A "sound side" room is basically looking at the road. Traffic/road noise was almost non-e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
march16th. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated.We are sorry in regards to laundry facilities not being in order we are working on that right now.Thank you for also mentioning that we are pet friendly. Again, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Got there early an they let us check in early.we were tired from driving.Room was clean beauiful view.The water pressure wasnt that great an u couldnt smoke on the balconey.but everything else made up for it!We love the area,will come back every year,makes myrtle beach look sad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
March 14th, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf.We are glad to hear that you "loved" the area. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had never been to Ocean Isle Beach, but when we found out about the Winter Sale (1 room 2 nights ocean front for $99) we couldn't resist, but we didn't expect a lot for as little as we paid. They blew our socks off! Everything was ready for us when we got there and we couldn't believe our luck when we saw the views we had of the ocean. Ocean Isle Beach is the prettiest beach visually I've seen on the NC coast. The room was clean, and the beds were to DIE for...extremely comfortable. I can't say enough good things about this place or the staff. From Tanya who made our reservations and went out of her way to help make sure we had a great mommy/daughter getaway to every staff person we encountered along the way, we could not have asked to be treated any better. This is not a new facility, but, whomever is running it has their eye on the ball big time and it could not have been more enjoyable. Thank you SO much and we will most definitely visit again when the weather is warmer. I'm sure the rates will be higher but it was a steal for us and well worth the price I'm sure. Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!

Room Tip: elevators can be a bit noisy but for us were worth being close to ...upper floor views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
March 5th, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that we managed to "Blow your Socks Off" and that you enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Room was larger than expected. Very clean and comfortable. Nice to have a wet bar and a sink in the bathroom. Lovely view of the ocean. Nice continental breakfast. Great staff. Helen, Carla, and Tanya at the front desk were all very helpful as well as several of the housekeeping staff. Simon and Jason also answered our questions and helped with what we needed. Wish the rooms had patios doors so could see the ocean better. Right now there is a problem with the elevator making a screeching sound when closing, so ask if that has been fixed. If not, don't stay in building 2 on the upper floor. Will definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Upper floor oceanfront rooms the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
March 3rd
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
In regards to the elevator door the problem has been addressed.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family and I travel quite a bit, and we were quite taken back by the professionalism we experienced by the hotel staff. Everyone was so very professional and personable. The rooms were quite exquisite, not to mention the amount of space that our room had. The jacuzzi and the heated pool were awesome. The Inn was quite close to resteraunts and other entertainment. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this place to all of my family and friends. This place is definitely heaven on earth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
March 3rd.
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.