We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing off season getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Save Saved
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Supply NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“relaxing off season getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the islander for the weekend of the super bowl. We wanted a quiet place where the boys would be comfortable and safe, and my husband and I could relax. Everyone had a great time enjoying the oceanfront landscape and indoor hot tub. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    97
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
104
124
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Everyone working here was so helpful and friendly. It was a great winter getaway. Not luxury, just a nice clean hotel with a fabulous view of the ocean and wonderful beach access. I'd stay again if I'm back to OIB.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. I will pass along your compliments to our staff. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Just got home from staying at the islander. Very Clean. Great price. Stay in or close to bldg. 2 if u want near pool and breakfast room. Great location close to pier. Fish were biting in the surf at the hotel. You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked two oceanfront rooms online in September. Called this week to confirm. Good we did, because they only had one room. They tried to make our second one just a Soundview. Despite faxing our confirmation for 2 oceanfront rooms and their own email confirming it, they claimed otherwise. Be careful if you try to modify a confirmation online and/or cancel....their system stinks and they apparently don't look at DIFFERENT confirmation numbers. They didn't even seem to understand their own online confirmation system. Also, they obviously move reservations to get the most money for a holiday weekend. We were planning to leave on a Saturday, and they no doubt wanted it booked through Sunday. The reservation people were unhelpful, stubborn, and unaccommodating despite the written confirmations. We decided to cancel the whole thing....probably they will be as unaccommodating when you get there. We went elsewhere!!!!

Room Tip: Don't even start with them.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Please allow me to begin by extending my most sincere apology for any deficiencies in service you may have experienced on the phone with one of our Reservationists. I am embarrassed that this was your experience with us as we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service. I am investigating your report and will address with our staff. We do care what you think of our establishment and more importantly, we care about your experience at our inn and with our staff. I hope you will accept our apology and consider giving us a second chance when making travel arrangements to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have vacationed at Ocean Isle Beach several times and stayed at the Islander Inn a number of those times. We love the place! You can't get a closer or better view of the ocean to watch the dolphins frolicking or the pelicans diving for their dinner! The rooms are not fancy but clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff is all very friendly and do a great job! Carla and Helen at the front desk remember us from year to year and are always delighted to see us! They are very accommodating and aim to make sure our stay is outstanding! The continental breakfast is enjoyable! Mesha was in the Breakfast Room this year and was very friendly and helpful! She told us of some places we should see and great local places to eat! We definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away for a few days and enjoy some peace and quiet at the beach! Ocean Isle Beach is a great place to go with very little commercialism or touristy stuff to clutter your view!

Room Tip: The hot water heaters are located in the attic above the center rooms of the second floor in each of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself . Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have never had any hotel go above and beyond to ensure our satisfaction. The service was absolutely spectacular! Jessica, the front desk person was most helpful and very attentive to our requests. We can't say enough about our stay, we will continue to visit and recommend the inn to everyone that we talk to!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. I will pass along your compliments to Jessica at the front desk. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is small and not part of a chain. The hotel is not fancy, but it is clean, the staff is friendly and the location is great. I have stayed several times after small business trips and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.