We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay...can't wait to go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Save Saved
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Johnstown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another perfect stay...can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our second stay at the Islander this year, and both vacations were perfect! Everything was very clean, the king sized bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself . Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    100
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
105
127
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noth Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ocean Isle Beach is a great family beach and the Islander Inn is a good place to experience it. It's right on the beach so the access is right from your room. Also at the hotel is a little pool which the kids enjoyed when they didn't want to deal with the sand and surf at the beach. OIB has spent lots of money on beach replenishment over the past 15 or 20 years so the beach is wide and not crowded. The Islander Inn rooms are comfortable but the mattress could have been a bit firmer. I like a good firm mattress, but my wife was happy, so I was happy! The Islander Inn is only a very short walk away from the OIB pier if you like to fish or putt putt golf, which the kids always enjoy. In years gone by there was a big water slide nearby also but that's gone now. You should enjoy the Islander Inn.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was mine and my husbands first time staying at Islander Inn and actually our first time at Ocean Isle Beach. Love the area and had a great stay at Islander Inn. The place was very clean and the staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the tiki bar and the bartender Monica was great. We plan to go back next year and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great views of the ocean or sound. Ample parking under the hotel, beside the hotel or across the street. Even those with a boat and trailer have no troubles with parking. The location on the beach is great. Only two floors of rooms. Beach is therefore not crowded like at SC beaches where they pack vacationers into high rises. No high rises here, except one, very far away down the beach. The beach itself is also wide, soft sand. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room attendants did a good job of cleaning and making the bed.

My only disappointments come from the mattress and breakfast. The bed mattress was too soft and did not provide good support. I woke up both mornings with a back ache.

The continental breakfast was the typical dry cereal, bagel, packaged muffins, and the ubiquitous thick waffle machine. I was disappointed with the lack of fresh fruit and the coffee machine. Rather than brewed coffee, the coffee machine only dispenses hot water which must add instant coffee as the water is being dispensed. Not good! This could be better.

Room Tip: Rooms are either ocean front or sound view. Ocean front rooms also have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted that you took notice of our amazing ocean view, uncrowded strand and wonderful staff. However, we sincerely regret that our mattresses were too soft for your liking and that our breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We take feedback very seriously and will address any issues we may find. We truly hope you will consider giving us a second chance on a future visit to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager We hope to have the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Walk into the lobby and meet the most helpful, courteous and truly considerate staff any property could have. They always try to accommodate your requests, and they have!!! The oceanfront rooms with the balconies help you leave all your troubles and stress behind. Just listening to the waves rolling in puts your mind at ease. The Islander Inn is located right on the ocean, but the beach area is not overcrowded. While we were there, a couple got married, that says a lot in itself. Give it a try, you will be completed satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Husband and I spent 2 nights at the Islander Inn and were very impressed - it was just what we were looking for - very clean, quiet and right on the beach. What was especially nice was the outstanding view of the ocean and being maybe 300 yards from the beach, with no huge sand dunes in between. The bed was super comfortable and the large flat-screen TV was a bonus - though we didn't spend much time in our room - much too nice on the beach! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and while I prefer Greek yogurt, they did offer Activia which was fine. I didn't think it was an old fashioned "throwback to the 50's" type of hotel, at least I never stayed in anything like this when I was a kid back then vacationing with my parents! No, it isn't 5-star hotel but we wanted a quiet place away from the high rise hotels and crowds. Monday was a perfect beach day. A vendor on the beach was renting big blue umbrellas and 2 canvas sling chairs for $25 for the day. We both agreed it was the best money we spent on our mini-vacation and we actually felt like we were in a Corona commercial! Everyone we came in contact with was super friendly, especially the female bartender at the Tiki Bar. We hope to be able to go back to the Islander Inn again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're looking for an oceanfront room for just 2 people, and just for a weekend stay at the beach, they are hard to find! But the Islander did a good job meeting our needs.

Pros-
-Right on the ocean, great views and convenient
-Not-overly congested beach area- Ocean Isle is a great beach!
-walking distance or short drive to several shops and tiny restaurants (albeit it very few- compared to other beaches, there is very little commercial development on Ocean Isle. For me that was a plus, but for others maybe not.)
-rooms are clean if not fancy (This was a simple place, don't expect anything fancy. From the decor you could tell that someone who cares tried to make everything nice, but the structure itself is older. Again, this was fine for me, but others might want something more luxurious.) Housekeeping staff was friendly and hardworking.
-We were able to rent an umbrella and beach chairs from the adjacent resort.

Cons-
-Breakfast buffet is truly just a large continental breakfast- lots and lots and lots of carbs. No eggs, yogurt or meats of any kind. I think that the only protein in the breakfast offerings were the cream cheese for bagels. Healthy options included oatmeal, apples and bananas, and a few other items. If this is really important to you, you might want to bring food with you. There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room.
-Room walls are thin and doors are noisy (even when you're closing them carefully and let's face it, many people weren't careful). The plus side was the clientele staying here were not the hard partiers, they were mostly couples and families. The island itself has little night life and no alcohol is allowed on the beaches. So it seemed to be a crowd who retires early for the night and the loud door slamming was only an issue in the morning/daytime.
-Check-in was slow. This seems to be the luck of the draw. The other staff person at the counter processed people through quickly and efficiently. The person helping us did not seem to work with any sense of urgency and didn't seem to realize we might have had a long drive there.

Overall, I would return to the Islander Inn.

Room Tip: Unit #2 has the elevator so expect more noise. Unit #1 and #3 are adjacent to this building so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.