We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Isle Creamery

Ocean Isle Creamery
8 Causeway Dr., Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

It wasn't great; it wasn't terrible. I've had better and I've had worse. My husband and I had the hurricanes and my kids had a cone. The service was eh. They didn't know the names of the ice cream. We ordered the hurricanes by name and they just stared at us. We had to explain what was in them. It was written on the board behind their heads!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    22
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool Treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Ocean Isle Creamery offers a good selection of made-on-site ice cream. Everyday different flavor ice creams are added to their selections of the standard flavors. The fresh strawberry was excellent but my favorite was Butterfinger. Double dip. In a waffle cone. And enjoyed while sitting in the rocking chairs on the patio at the front of the store.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The creamery is always a family favorite when visiting Ocean Isle. We usually stop a couple of different nights on our week long vacation. The ice cream is always homemade, creamy and flavorful. Flavor selection is different every evening so you never know what you are going to get but they always have something for everybody. There is generally a long line but the girls behind the counter keep it moving fast. The only downside is it is a bit pricey, especially if you get a specialty dessert, but it is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bland ice cream”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Bland and didn't really have much flavor in the ice cream we had. Disappointed because in the last couple years it was very good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not all that.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

There were three girls behind the counter, only one seemed to know what she was selling and she was quite helpful. I didn't think it was anything special but it is the only place on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Isle Creamery also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Ocean Isle Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Isle Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.