We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream, identical to the creamery in Calabash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Isle Creamery

Ocean Isle Creamery
8 Causeway Dr., Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Sevierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, identical to the creamery in Calabash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my family stopped here to get ice cream after eating at The Giggling Mackerel. The girls who worked there were very nice, and helpful on picking favors. The prices were equal to any creamery I've been to. The kids really enjoyed the ice cream. We bought ice cream for the kids, and about halfway through the cup, we ended up eating the rest. The ice cream was very flavorful, and very creamy. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you stop here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    31
    25
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McGee Crossroads, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The ice cream was good but not enough flavors to choose from.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was nice they had rocking chairs outside to sit and enjoy the ice cream. The place was way busy and needed more staff to serve the overflow of folks trying to be served.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place to grab a late night cone after playing a round of putt putt. They have so many flavors to choose from! Also very fresh. they make all there ice cream right there. Also have a little gist shop upstairs. They have inside and outside seating. Its right on the island when you come across the bridge on your right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't know why we keep wasting our money here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every beach town should have a good place to go get ice cream. Unfortunately, Ocean Isle doesn't. We go get something every year thinking maybe it will have improved, but it never does. This year we walked in, 3 of us and there was a family in front of us being helped. There were 3 people behind the counter, one was helping the family in front, the other two girls were standing off to the side talking. When we walked in, they ducked down I guess so we wouldn't ask them for anything. After a few minutes, the looked over at the girl who was actually working and said they'd be back soon, walked out from behind the counter, and out the front door!! The other girl was filling some complicated requests so it took us about 20 minutes to get served, and it was still as bad as it was last year. We won't be going back. If you want a good treat in Ocean Isle, there's a great Italian Ice place across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are looking for creamy ice cream don't go here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have stopped at this shop 5 times in the past and kept trying to find something nice to say but this year solidified our never going back. The ice cream tastes like cardboard--it doesn't seem as if it is made with quality ingredients.It is almost as if vanilla ice cream is doctored with flavors and colors to produce the unpalatable creations. This place is a rip-off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Isle Creamery also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Ocean Isle Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Isle Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.