We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star cuisine, flip flop elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharky's

Sharky's
61 Causeway, Ocean Isle Beach, NC
910-579-9177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“5 star cuisine, flip flop elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice lunch here at our recent stay on OIB. Conveniently located on the main island right when you cross the bridge, Sharky’s is always on our list of restaurants we will visit. It is a very casual dining environment; you feel like you’re on vacation as soon as you walk in the door.

Service was good and has been consistent in the years we have visited.

Food quality is very good. They have some unique menu items (shark’s teeth….mmmm) that are must-dos when visiting. Overall entrees were delicious for both of us.

Bottom line: The first place we go when we get to OIB is Sharky’s, you will love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    97
    52
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conover, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting grille”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Service was excellent; food good; bathroom facilities need upgrading and removal of mold away from walls behind toilets. We will return and hopefully the musty odor as you enter disappears.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Sharkys has great atmosphere. The food is pretty good and service is fast and friendly. It is a family friendly place & we will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Loved the hush puppies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

In as much as the hush puppies were not a free on the table like many local restaurants, we tried them as a appetizer, They were terrific, for the most part the meals were very good. It is so convenient to Ocean Isle beach, it is hard to beat. The last night were were there we were thanked by a man that was perhaps a manager or owner, he was very gracious and made an impression on us. The servers are always friendly, they work hard to get the food out quickly, We will be back next visit!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential beach restaurant on the intercoastal. Not Calabash.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Ocean Isle since 1962. In the early years we made the trip to Calabash once a year for fried everything. Sharky's came along maybe 20 years ago and we have never been back to Calabash (or Sunset Beach). Maybe 10 years ago Sharkys ownership changed. The new owners cleaned it up a bit and raised the quality of the food and service. If you still want the fried platter they have it. But if your taste have matured their blackened grouper sandwich is awesome. I requested the boom boom sauce they use on the fish tacos and they could not have been more accommodating. The service is great. The food will not disappoint, but if you choose fried anything you get what you deserve - a sleepless night. Oh, the bartender is great too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharky's also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sharky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharky's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.