We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharkys-nice atmosphere, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharky's

Sharky's
61 Causeway, Ocean Isle Beach, NC
910-579-9177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sharkys-nice atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was impressed by the atmosphere. It was a relaxed beach atmosphere and was quite enjoyable. The food was great (but I would not recommend the pizza).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    109
    53
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Norman, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Oddly disappointed by this restaurant. The location, the decor, the menu all appealed to me. However....the service was rushed and impersonal. The food was bland, boring and overpriced.

We visited on a busy friday night the weekend before New Year's Eve. We expected it to be busy as it was one of the only restaurants open on Ocean Isle Beach this time of year. . Seemed to be very popular with the locals. Very excited to eat some fresh seafood and relax.

We were promptly sat. The food was pretty quick to come out. The owner did visit our table as other reviewers have said.

I had a spinach salad with 5 pieces of shrimp. If you can count the precisely placed shrimp....to me, not a good sign. Other guests dining with me ordered tuna. Some on a salad and some on a bed of rice w/ veges. We played a game of swap the tuna because they were all unsatisfied with the requested cook temps. Only to be very disappointed with the switch. Fish was obviously frozen.

We asked for a dessert menu. Sat 15 mins then were brought the bill. We asked about the dessert menu again. It was brought to us. We proceeded to order dessert for my son and additional cocktails for the adults. But we were obviously being rushed out because of a large crowd waiting for tables. We dropped nearly 500$ between all of us...and it was not worth it.

Probably a great little watering hole and seafood spot. Maybe we caught it on a
bad night. But I won't be going back.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.s.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Will always go back to Sharky's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place is consistently very good and the owners care, that's obvious, since they check on every single customer. Especially good, always fresh: Pawley's Island Steamed Shrimp, best around, salads are served on chilled salad plates, fresh as can be and the atmosphere is fun. Outside dining on the canal is great in summer. We go here often and will continue.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a large crowd of 20 golfers ...service was great , food ranged from average to very good. Burgers and steak/shrimp,fish tacos were great , fried apps were average

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre, but nearby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sharky's did take out, was close to our rental, and always had a busy parking lot so we thought we would try it. We got everything we ordered in a reasonable amount of time, but the food was nothing great at all. Very greasy, lots of fried options and I felt like I should have just made dinner at home.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharky's also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sharky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharky's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.