We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flies in the windows” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thai by the Sea

Thai by the Sea
8311 Yaupon Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465
(910) 278-6420
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 50 Restaurants in Oak Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Flies in the windows”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went in and were greated, but from there, it went down hill fast. After we were seated, we waited and waited, but no one came over to our table for over 10 minutes, despite the fact several staff noticed us. If that was not enough, multiple flies were in the windows, and when I say multiple, I mean more than 5 . . . we walked out and will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I only did takeout. It was prepared super fast but the serving sizes were small. The food did not taste like what we are use to. It was good still but not great. I would still recommend it to someone getting takeout though...just order a couple of things to fill you up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a nice surprise to have such a great thai food restaurant in the area. We are from a city area and for a small town to have a very good thai food restaurant was a great surprise to us. Enjoyed our meals and will return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were treated as an inconvenience at this restaurant, which had been highly recommended by a friend. We waited about fifteen minutes after being seated for any attention from our server; they were clearly under-staffed. The spring rolls were heavy on the greens and light on shrimp and other veggies, but the entrees we ordered were served hot and tasted great. The first smile we got was when we were given our check. I won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“total winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We live nearby, and love this place. Top notch food, great service, great location. No doubt, this one is a winner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai by the Sea also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Thai by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.