We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barbeque House

The Barbeque House
5002 East Oak Island Drive, Oak Island, NC 28465
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Beach BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Hickory Smoked BBQ so tender n smokey, you don't even need sauce! But DO use their house sauces, as they are marvelous...each so unique and perfect, you have to divide up your meat just so you can enjoy some of each flavor. I never knew of such thing as "red slaw", a vinegar and tomato-based coleslaw, but it was a nice option. Their traditional coleslaw (mayonnaise-based) was just the way I like it; very mild. By all means, order hush puppies as your side and indulge by dipping them in the cinnamon butter. Worth the wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fried Corn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Always a great place to enjoy some excellent BBQ. Especially enjoy the hush puppies and fried corn. The Brunswick Stew is also good. Not many places you can go and pig out (pun intended) and only cost you $25 for 3 people!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
2 reviews
“I like this place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I enjoy Wednesday special....the food good d t prices even better. Call in advance and you,all wait less time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great barbecue, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you're ;looking for a big bang for your buck, look no farther. The Barbecue House serves up big portions of barbecue at a great price. The portions don't diminish much for the luncheon specials that are around $5.00. Great hush puppies come with almost anything and there are other choices on the menu besides barbecue like Brunswick stew. Also yummy. Brisket is served up on Sat. There are several different kinds of barbecue sauce, so you can fix your Carolina barbecue up the way you like it. Service is laid back and friendly. Nothing fancy here, just great barbecue at a great price. One of Oak Island's best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My son loves eating here. It is yummy! The BBQ is wonderful. If we are there for lunch, I sometimes get a grilled cheese sandwich and fries. The staff is always so friendly and treat you like a local. This is probably my favorite place to eat on the Island. I can't wait to eat there again in June!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barbeque House also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Barbeque House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barbeque House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.