We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barbeque House

The Barbeque House
5002 East Oak Island Drive, Oak Island, NC 28465
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Clayton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I can see why this restaurant was voted #1 on the coast. The food was amazing, and priced great to match. Our server was awesome and very knowledgeable about the menu items and you can look into the kitchen and watch them prepare your food. I will definately be recommending this place to everyone going to Oak Island.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    71
    38
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've reviewed this place before but wanted to include a note about what a great place it is to take kids. My daughter is 3 and loves eating here. They have a kids menu with a good selection and excellent pricing. It comes with a drink and cookie....and my daughters FAVORITE thing...a token to get something out of the little prize machines by the door (think the little toy machines like at the grocery store that have bouncy balls, rings, stickers etc). They also have pictures to color and crayons while you are waiting for your food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great NC Barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Better than Lexington! Great food and service at a reasonable price. The waitress really care, and keep your glass full of great iced tea.
Best place to eat on Oak Island. Convenient location and ample parking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

great bbq loved the variety of sauces. bbq had good smokey flavor. casual atmosphere inside. reasonably priced

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Son and husband enjoy BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

BBQ does not agree with me so I got the corn dog and hush puppies. Husband and son ordered BBQ plate, BBQ comes 'dry' so you can add whatever sauce you want. I think there are at least 3 choices in sauce. Husband and son also had the Banana Pudding and enjoyed it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barbeque House also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Barbeque House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barbeque House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.