We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early, go hungry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Island

Turtle Island
6220 East Oak Island Drive, Oak Island, NC
910-278-4944
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go early, go hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Recommended by my cousin and didn't disappoint. We we're first seated at 5, and our meals came promptly with good service. The seafood combination was very good, with plenty of shrimp and oysters. As mentioned by others, the inside has less light than we'd like, but it was comfortable and quiet during our meal. We will visit again the next time we vacation to Oak Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    46
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great place to eat. Recommend arriving early as it does fill up quick. I had the filet with crab meat and it was cooked perfectly. My wife had the salmon and she really loved it. Our opinion is Turtle Island is one of the best restaurants in the area. Great menu. If your lucky you may be able to sit at the ocean view table. No complaints at all, service was excellent. We will be returning for dinner very soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro,PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“go early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Thanks to the helpful person who answered the phone in the middle of the day I learned that reservations are only taken for parties of 5 or more, but that 2 shouldn't have a problem if we arrived at 5 pm when they opened for dinner. Walked right in, had great service, very good prime rib and rib eyes. Only downside, it is noisy as it is more of a bar atmosphere than dining room, but enjoyed the meal and the only red meat of a seafood filled week! Def will go again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was recommended to my wife and me by a person who lives on Oak Island. Was at the restaurant when the doors opened otherwise would not have been able to get in as it was almost fully booked! Friend also recommended the shrimp and grits so wife and I tried them. Was happy we did. Delicious! And the server was excellent -- smiles and laughs, visited table often to ensure all was well but did not visit so much that we felt intruded upon. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get Yourself on Turtle Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you're looking for a delicious seafood meal, and don't want to leave the island, head over to Turtle Island! I suggest making a reservation if you can because this place gets packed...fast! We ate at the bar and had GREAT service. Mike was attentive and friendly and the food was paced really well. Based on advice from locals, we went on Wednesday so we could take advantage of local's special night. In addition to the regular menu, we had about 10 specials from which we could pick. We went with hushpuppies and Caribbean calamari as our appetizers. The hushpuppies weren't as hot as I like them but they were delicious. The filling was DELISH and the cinnamon dipping sauce made them divine. The calamari was lightly fried and very fresh. Both apps were delish. For meals, we went with 1/2 pound blue crab and crab cakes. Again, NOT AT ALL disappointed. The crab was tender and cooked perfectly and the butter sauce wasn't too overpowering. The crab cakes were all crab (very little filler) and tasted just as fresh as the blue crab. The vegetables that accompanied each dish were also fresh and cooked to perfection.

As busy as the restaurant was, our food came out paced very well. Our drinks stayed full and our bellies stayed happy. What else could you ask for? We'll definitely be back here next time we're on the island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Island also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Turtle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.