We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annie's Clam Chowder Excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Island

Turtle Island
6220 East Oak Island Drive, Oak Island, NC
910-278-4944
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sparta, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Annie's Clam Chowder Excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wednesdays Steam Night had been highly touted for Turtle Island. Noticing the crowds on Wednesdays, we arrived early and were seated at a table near the bar. It was so noisy we could not carry on a conversation, We got steamed snow crab legs and oysters, good, but a little too cool. However, our cup of Annie's Chowder was delicious. Our service (by a young black fellow) was outstanding. He knows how to hustle.

We returned to Turtle Island on a different night, hoping for a quieter atmosphere. Volume was down a notch, but still very noisy. If you like a local bar type of place, it is perfect. This night I got the special trigger fish oscar. The fish and asparagus were excellent, but the crab meat topping tasted strange, so I scraped it off. Service this night was not so good. I had to ask for things for than once. He didn't seem to know how to take care of multiple tasks in one trip, running back and forth. Maybe inexperience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    46
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Have eaten there every July for the last 3 years and will continue to do so. The food is always fantastic. Great seafood (though I find the skewered shrimp presented in a V as a bit tacky; absolutely delicious, but tacky). The low country food is very satisfying. Love the hush puppies! We've eaten at the bar each time we were there so cannot comment on the dining room. Service has always been top notch. The one time there was an issue with our order being significantly delayed, the owner/manager comped the entire meal. We talked to him when we were waiting for a table and he's a classy guy. He talked of renovations being planned so we can't wait to see the changes!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent STAFF AND FOOD!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got to the restaurant around 6 on Tuesday was not busy and got table right away our waitress was Brittany very nice food came out very fast OMG must try the crab cakes soooo gooood she did okay but nice older man who said he was just a server got us everything we needed and made this the best restaurant we have eaten at in a long time. This is a must try place and worth the drive from Wilmington.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent local find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lived in area for 8yrs. -first visit. Impressed-went on Labor Day weekend with three adults and three children (they have a childrens menu). Because there was over 5 of us we were able to make reservation. Despite the place being jammed, we were seated after a 10 min. wait. Had the stuffed triggerfish with mango salsa accompanied by black beans and rice -delicious meal-fish cooked perfectly. Other adults had filet mignon with Bernaise sauce and steamed clams-both said they were very good. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Wednesday nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great place to go on Wednesday nights...1/2 price appetizers. Great way to enjoy crab legs. Good food there...fun place to eat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Island also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Turtle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.