We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Island Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oak Island Restaurant
6302 E Oak Island Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465-4507
910-201-9925
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 50 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are looking for southern comfort food, this is the place! I had the fried chicken and it was fried to perfection, and very tender. The corn bread with jalapeno was to die for and I am not a fan of corn bread. I noticed a lot of the locals got the fried fish. It was 2 huge pieces and looked wonderful. The place is bigger than it looks from the outside. The atmosphere is nothing real special but the service made up for it. Everyone was so friendly from the time you were greeted at the door and to the time you were seated at your table. Our waitress was very pleasant and prompt with our order.
It is on the East Oak Island Drive. Easy access.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    16
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a Friday flounder special that was super...huge pieces of fish...one grilled dinner, one fried...food was great. Restaurant is fairly basic, a local type joint, but we liked that and the prices were reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwine, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“It is a Fish Camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

See the title, if you do not know what that is you might want to pass on OIR. If on the other hand you love good fried flounder and other fried delights you definitely want to make a trip to OIR.
Friday's is the $7.95 flounder special with drink, two sides and puppies! Now that is a deal.
We lucked out and were there and it was some of the best fried flounder I have ever had. The fried okra was pretty tasty too.
The owner told me that Wednesday they do shrimp and on Thursdays (breaking with the fish camp theme) they have chicken and dumplings. If the flounder is any indication of how the the shrimp and dumplings might taste, yummy.

Not much ambiance, the wait staff have tied dyed shirts that say "best fish in town" and the there is no wine. Remember it is a fish camp! They are always family sorts of places....

Good eats here if you are fan of this southern specialty!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I meet friends here once a week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Two of my friends like to eat here on Thursdays, the lunch special is fried chicken or chicken and dumplings. I sometimes just get a bowl of dumplings, they are filling. My husband likes the fried fish.

OI Resturant is not my first choice for lunch but fine when I want to have a variety.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The service was excellent, and the food was really a great value for the money. Great breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Island Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Oak Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Island Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.