We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Island Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oak Island Restaurant
6302 E Oak Island Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465-4507
910-201-9925
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 50 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great View, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food was OK...nothing to write home about. Our server was horrible. He acted like he wanted to go home and was not personable at all. I think he needs rest or a new job! There are plastic table cloths, which wasn't a big deal, as this is a pretty casual restaurant. But the view was fabulous!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    16
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and value all day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We loved this place and ate here several times during our 1 week stay to Oak Island. The service was friendly and there wasn't a single meal that we wouldn't order again on a future visit. Best french toast ever! Best hushpuppies in town! (we ordered them at 2 other restaurants, and these were, by far, the best!) Flounder and fried shrimp can't be beat! The prices are beyond reasonable, and we had incredibly friendly service at every visit! If you're looking for delicious homestyle food, incredible prices, good service, and a no-fuss atmosphere, then this is the place for you!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Full plates - family pricing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a locally owned restaraunt with minimal ambiance but quality food in large portions including seafood with daily specials. Limited hours but large portions of homestyle food.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not really family friendly....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Have eaten here many times...always great food. I have 2 young children with texture aversion issues...they eat nothing on the menu, so I have to bring in their food. This time, I was told by restaurant owner that as of Friday, we could no longer bring in food, per Health Dept. I called the Health Dept. and this is not one of their mandated rules...this was a rule made up today, apparently out of greed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Killer Flounder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

And I thought flounder was a thin fish! Thick and huge portions of grilled or fried flounder plates with a selection of over 5+ sides. No need to settle for fried as they offer Cajun or lemon grilled fish or boiled shrimp. Vegetables and beans and cranberry sauce or coleslaw. Fried stuff too: okra,fries, squash and hush puppies. Casual but clean well loved traditional local atmosphere. Family, family family.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Island Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Oak Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Island Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.