We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive remodel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shady Lawn Lodge

The Shady Lawn Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shady Lawn Lodge
Save
You added The Shady Lawn Lodge to your Saves list
330 Cranberry St, Newland, NC 28657   |  
Hotel amenities
Climax, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impressive remodel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Shady Lawn Lodge began as the Shady Lawn Motel in the 60's. In the past year, the grandson of the original owner has totally gutted and built back exterior and interiors in an upscale, well-designed, tasteful remodel. They put in spacious bathrooms with granite countertops, a 6' shower (careful...slippery floor), comfortable mattress, and nice, new furniture. Amenities of mini-fridge, microwave, flat-screen TV, and in-room coffee maker round out the convenience and comfort. Although Newland is not a tourist destination, it is a short drive to many attractions, including Crossnore School, Linville Falls, Linville Caverns, Grandfather mountain, ski slopes, tubing, rafting, and incrdible scenery. Lodge staff is friendly and responsive, and the rates can't be beat, especially for the quality. Everything was immaculately clean. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin R, Owner at The Shady Lawn Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay. We value your opinions and appreciate your business. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
20
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was in the area for hiking and was not wanting to camp. The Shady Lawn staff was very cordial on the phone. I was given a newly renovated room and was pleased by the cleanliness and quality of accommodations in such a small town. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Newly remolded, very clean, great beds and staff. We will definitely stay here again !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visiting Roan Mountain, Tn or the Boone-Blowing Rock area of North Carolina? Want to stay at a nice, clean reasonably priced motel and be 10 to 20 miles from most of the area major attractions?

We highly reccommend the Shady Lawn Lodge in Newland, NC. Although an older facility, they have just undergone a major high quality renovation and have updated their lodge. We stayed in their deluxe double queen suite ($92) and found it to be as nice as anyone can expect from any motel regardless of the price you pay. Great bed and PILLOWS! Whoever planned the renovation...knew what they were doing. We were impressed with the cleanliness and professional management. They actually act like they appreciated our business! Imagine that!

Room Tip: Note: The Google Earth pictures of the lodge are old and taken prior to the recent renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin R, Owner at The Shady Lawn Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and hope you decide to stay with the Shady Lawn Lodge on your next visit to Western North Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

newly remodeled, room very clean. just a couple of kinks to work out no hangers for clothes and not soap holder in the shower. will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great Experience! Nice comfortable rooms in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin R, Owner at The Shady Lawn Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your response and your business. Thank you for making the Shady Lawn Lodge a great property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shady Lawn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Lawn Lodge

Address: 330 Cranberry St, Newland, NC 28657
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Newland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Newland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the High Country of North Carolina in the community of Newland. We have 20 luxury units ranging from 1 queen bed to a 2 bedroom apartment suite. We are centrally located close to all major area attractions. Many championship golf courses line the area and resort communities with beautiful surroundings. Less than 10 miles to the top of Grandfather Mountain, site of the annual scottish Highland Games. Within 15 miles of the major ski resorts including Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain for winter activities. Two universities are close to the area, with Appalachian State University and Lee's McRae University, both within a 30 minute drive.Surrounded by beautiful hiking trails and nature walks, there is something for everyone within minutes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shady Lawn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.