We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW BERNHILTON” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Middle Street, New Bern, NC 28560 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
phil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NEW BERNHILTON”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was not clean when we arrived, however, we did not notice the pretzel on the floor until the next day. I went to pick it up and ants immediately surrounded my hand. It looked like the rug was moving there were so many ants. Then after my shower we found a cockroach in the bathroom. The hotel was nice and refunded one nights stay of the two, however, the ant bites on my hands and toes still itch a week later. My thumb was oozing from all the bites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize for the issue you faced with the ants in your room and a bagel being left behind. I have brought this to the attention of our General Manager, Chief of Engineering and our Director of Housekeeping so this can be addressed immediately. Thank you again and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    172
    128
    70
    37
See reviews for
107
171
26
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Friendly service, clean rooms, satisfactory bathroom ammenities. But best of all is the location. It is on the waterfront within walking distance to a beautiful waterfront park and exquistive dining and shopping sites. Worth the stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to New Bern and with us. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were put in a room at the "Inn" part of this hotel. The carpet and bathroom shower all need replacing. Traveling with a toddler, I was concerned with the cleanliness of both of these. The carpet was old and poorly installed with visible raw edges and the shower area had wall paper that was coming loose. The tile was stained and dated. The room had a musty smell. We could hear everything going on outside in the lobby area. Not at all what I expected for $100+ dollars a night. We needed a refrigerator and had to ask for one. It was brought promptly.The property itself was a great location and the room size was good too. I have stayed at much cleaner hotels for less $$ that offer free breakfast and refrigerators standard. Will stay at a different hotel when in town again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize for the issues you faced during your visit and can understand your concern. I am happy to report that we are just about to begin our renovations and high on our priority list are our guest room updates and the carpeting throughout the hotel. At the moment refrigerators are not standard for all rooms, but we are hoping that will be changing once we are done with renovations. I do hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again once they are completed so we can make sure you have the experience we want our guests to have. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Bern Double Tree provides a comfortable and relaxing environment. The location of the hotel on the water is beautiful. I highly suggest breakfast and a relaxing walk through the lovely town of New Bern.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and all New Bern has to offer, we are lucky to be such a big part of it. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boydton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We love the DoubleTree in New Bern for so many reasons ... the main one being that they provide quality accommodations for people that travel with their dogs. It is great that more hotels are making rooms available to people that travel with their pet-family and this particular property is one of the BEST !! There is a nice park next to the DoubleTree for walking and the merchant's in Town welcome dogs to come in and "browse" too. We love when we find a town and hotel that makes us all feel so welcome. We are repeat guests here and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. PLEASE continue to offer rooms that are pet-friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that we are able to accomodate you and your "furry" friend, we know how important they can be! I am so please that you love New Bern and all it has to offer, we are so thankful to be such a part of a great little town. We look forward to having you and yours back soon! Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I requested a microwave and received one in my room almost immediately. I cookie was delicious as always. The personnel were very friendly and helpful. The service and facilities were impeccable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and will make sure I share your thoughts with all of our staff. We sincerely appreciate all your kind words. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the main part of the hotel. We previously stayed in the Inn. I found the Inn to be much nicer. Our room on this stay needed a few updates such as painting in the room. The bedding was very comfortable and room service breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visits with us. I am also happy to let you know that we are just about to begin our renovations and high on our priority list are guest room updates and carpeting throughout the hotel. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle Street, New Bern, NC 28560 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton New Bern / Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.