We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Middle Street, New Bern, NC 28560 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Roanoke Rapids, United States
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Clean, friendly and quiet. Beautiful on the water overlooking the water/marina.Outdoor dining and bar with hotel. Walk 2 blocks to quaint seafood resturants and shops in a small coastal historic town. Excellent setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to ake a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that we were able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you during your visit and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    159
    121
    69
    35
See reviews for
101
157
24
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were only staying one night, wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the hotel. We booked a balcony room, they are on the fifth floor facing out over the marinas and river. A beautiful view. Directly below us we looked at a large deck where a band played from 5-9pm and folks danced and enjoyed themselves. We enjoyed the last hour from our balcony. Next to that area was a lovely pool and an outdoor dining area for the on site restaurant (we did not have a chance to eat there but it was nice looking and served all meals). Our room included a mini fridge, microwave, coffee/tea machine, clock, Wi-Fi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and 2 bathrobes. The room was nicely appointed and clean. Plenty of towels too, not the small bath towels, nice large ones. We decided to order breakfast thru room service which arrived right on time and was nice and warm. All staff we encountered were super nice and helpful. I forgot my toothbrush and was given one. You also do receive the warm chocolate cookie they advertise, delicious! New Bern is a lovely town to visit but I wish we could have stayed another day just to enjoy the pool and the restaurant. Really a nice place and worth a few extra dollars to ask for the balcony room. Also heat and AC controlled by a wall thermostat. Very comfortable beds and bedding.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that we were able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you during your visit and and you enjoyed your stay. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Hilton provided rooms for the MS bike participants to shower and clean up after the ride. After 200 miles of riding that weekend, it was very much appreciated. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever used in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that we were able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you during your visit and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again next year during such a wonderful event. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I couldn't imagine giving this hotel anything less than 5 stars , we are presently here and are already planning our next trip here . blown away from the marina and river view from our 5th floor room. room was clean, the bed is awesome , and to top it off , I mentioned that it was our 22nd anniversary, and they brought us up cheesecake, strawberries, and champagne. at no charge i might add. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone , especially to celebrate a romantic occasion like ours ... ;)

Room Tip: get the 5th floor balcony river vew room, for the money difference its well worth it ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that we were able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you during your visit and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is my 7th year staying at this hotel during the 2nd weekend of September for the MS Bike Event. The rooms are very nice and clean and the location is VERY convenient to the activities of this particular weekend. The only issue I have is the music and patron noise from the bar/pool deck filters up into the rooms and if you're an "early night in" kind of a person it is a bit noisy until 10:00pm. Make sure you request a room in the separate building to avoid this. Otherwise, I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are staying in New Bern!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and choosing us throughout the years for Bike MS. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay minus the music on the deck. I have brought this to the attention of our General Manager and Food & Beverage Manager so we can look into next year and find a suitable solution. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The room was pretty nice especially for being in the "Inn" building on the property. We were not told we would be in the less desirable Inn building which is away from all of the hotel amenities - very disappointed. Two glaring oversights: no mini-fridge in the room and no desk and desk chair in the room. I found this very odd for a "nice hotel" - what upper level hotel does not provide mini fridges in every room?? Very strange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize that your room was not equipped with a refrigerator, desk nor chair. The desk and chair have now been replaced. We are just about to start our renovations and hope to have the items you mentioned addressed shortly. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Awesome location and hotel. The staff was most helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and a good size. The location is perfect for walking around New Bern. The are lots of retaurants in walking distance. Tryon Palace is also in walking disatance. There is a great gym facility. Hilton Gold perks were really appreciated and I even got a hot cookie on check-out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and took advantage of all New Bern has to offer. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle Street, New Bern, NC 28560 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton New Bern / Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.