We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunches at great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Tavern & Grill

Morgan's Tavern & Grill
235 Craven St, New Bern, NC 28560-2153
252-636-2430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great lunches at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This Colonial style restaurant offers excellent food at excellent prices. The lunch specials are delicious and a bargain to boot and include excellent soup (we had the lobster bisque) along with a half sandwich for a mere $5.99. The menu is varied and includes delicious salads and entrees as well, all at very reasonable prices. And the staff is wonderfully friendly and full of information about the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    156
    48
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Thankfully improving.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We used to eat here frequently but it's been a while since the past couple experiences were not so good. Today, our meal was very good. I had one of the best French Dip Sandwiches I've had. Beef and au jus was perfectly seasoned. Mushrooms and onions nicely caramelized. Fish and Chips was not greasy and delicious. Tuna Lettuce Wraps were great. Service was, as it's always been, good and courteous. We will look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Morgan's Downtown New Bern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Morgan's is one of my favorite "go to" places in downtown New Bern, NC. The food is great, the atmosphere is good, and the service is good (professional and efficient). It's spacious and has a nice quaint bar area you can relax in if there is a wait. I've been numerous times and it never disappoints. I almost always get the Lobster Bisque Soup and follow with one of their great salads or steak.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate here kinda late last night, it was about nine when we arrived. We had a large party and we were still seated almost instantly. Our party ordered a large array of menu items and everyone said their order was delicious. I ordered the bacon bleu cheese burger and it was delicious.. Cooked perfectly to medium which is my favorite temp for burgers. I was a bit surprised it didn't come with veggies like lettuce, tomato, onion, but that's alright it was yummy. I got a side of onion rings with it and they were the best. Onion rings should not fall to pieces when you bite them. My husband got the molasses bourbon chops with mac and cheese and a side salad. Beautiful salad, juicy chops, but the mac and cheese was a little boring. Other than it taking way too long for my beer to arrive, it was an amazing meal. We all felt that the portions were great and the price was just right. Plus! Honey covered croissants! I would return here to eat anytime.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOME
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great dinner, and service. Had the Shrimp and Scallop scampi and the Drunken Mussels. Both were excellent and more than enough to eat

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Tavern & Grill also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Morgan's Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.