We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Tavern & Grill

Morgan's Tavern & Grill
235 Craven St, New Bern, NC 28560-2153
252-636-2430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great selection of food from delicious sandwiches to seafood plates. The service is good and food comes fairly quickly as well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    156
    48
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Let me start by saying the only reason I didn't give 5 stars was due to the hostess poor attitude. My waitress was awesome and made up for it! Loved the atmosphere here. I ordered the fish taco and shrimp taco. Loved them both! Husband ordered the bear burger and enjoyed it as well. Glad I found a new place to eat when visiting New Bern!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience....Great Food too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I must say this was one of the best places I have been to during my trip.The food was fresh and tasty with large helpings and the staff was very polite and helpful.It is a very interesting motif inside and even has outdoor dining. I give it ten out of ten...Loved it

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Gem - Great Food, Service and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Found this restaurant through TripAdvisor and were very happy we did. The food was excellent only enhanced by our wonderful server, Tana, who was efficient, funny and helpful in terms of what to see in the historic district; sent us to Mitchell's Hardware Store - a must see for anyone in the area. We recommend Morgan's if you are looking for a wonderful food experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a nice lunch here on our way to the sites of New Bern. It is located in the center of town in a historic building. The atmosphere is unique and the good was very good. We also had some local beer which was offered and it was a hit. It has a pub like atmosphere and a great selection of salads, sandwiches, platters, soups, really anything you could think of. The fries were divine. The service was excellent with very a very knowledgeable wait staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Tavern & Grill also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Morgan's Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.