We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Tavern & Grill

Morgan's Tavern & Grill
235 Craven St, New Bern, NC 28560-2153
252-636-2430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 132 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very slow on keeping glasses filled.Waitress gave us the bill before dessert was brought to table.Sorry for the negative review but I hope the bad service was because I looked homeless ?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    181
    51
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to dinner with my grandparents for their 50th wedding anniversary and it was delicious. The mahi was cooked perfectly, the crab cakes are full of meat and the shrimp and scallop scampi was terrific...I will be coming back to this place again!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great service, fantastic food, and amazing ambiance. A little on the pricey side for the dinner menu, but still worth it. The desserts were A*M*A*Z*I*N*G. I had the S'mores for dessert and it was the best dessert I've had in a long time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Morgan's on Saturday, 9th November. From the moment we met Eric, the manager on duty, we knew he would make our reception a great success. Throughout the planning and preparations, Eric and the entire team showed not only absolute professionalism, but such warm enthusiasm and interest, often going out of their way to accommodate our needs. The food at our tasting was delicious and absolutely superb on the night, especially the lobster bisque and whiskey river strip. The service was efficient and so friendly, with the whole team working together to ensure all guests were satisfied and happy. We need to give a special mention to Brittany and Nicole, who took the initiative and set up all the decorations so beautifully, even before the night got underway, and to Eric who even did the flowers when I was in a panic. All our guests had a fantastic time and left feeling as though the staff at Morgan's truly love their job and that they had gone above and beyond to make our wedding special and memorable. Thank you all so much. We cannot recommend Morgan's highly enough, whether it be for a special function or dinner for two. Believe the reviews - food, service, atmosphere and value are exceptional. Morgan's is a very special place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The food was great and the service was better. We were seated quickly and were not rushed to move on when finished. Good tavern style food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Tavern & Grill also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Morgan's Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.