We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, fabulous hosts, delicious breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanna House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanna House to your Saves list
Hanna House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   218 Pollock St., New Bern, NC 28560   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 New Bern B&B and Inns
Battleboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, fabulous hosts, delicious breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I just spent the weekend in New Bern celebrating our anniversary. We chose to stay at the Hanna House because I had stayed there before during a girl's weekend and found it to be very comfortable, beautifully decorated and lovingly cared for. Joe and Camille are wonderful and thoughtful hosts and went out of their way to make our weekend even more special.
The breakfasts are delicious and I really like the fact that they allow you to chose what you would like to have and the time you would like for it to be served. One morning we enjoyed coffee out in their beautiful garden and a walk along the waterfront before our breakfast. What a perfect way to start your day!
Hanna House is conveniently located and a short walk to all the downtown shops, sights and restaurants. Of all the B&B's I have visited in New Bern, this one has been by far the best Whether it is for a girl's weekend with my best friend or a romantic get away with my husband, The Hanna House will be my choice. We have found our New Bern home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
74
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the charming Hanna House B&B in quaint and historic New Bern, NC. The B&B itself is a lovingly-cared for historic home, and the gracious & thoughtful hosts take great pride in making sure that all guests have a wonderful experience. The breakfasts are excellent! We are so happy that we stayed at the Hanna House, and would recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone who appreciates a great historic home with superb hosts.

Room Tip: This beautiful historic home is lovingly cared for by generous hosts, and is a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

What started as a last-minute surprise weekend getaway for my wife and me turned into a really great experience. After reading a few reviews, I spoke to Joe by phone and he was extremely helpful in providing insights on the different features of the available rooms (I chose the German Mill room because for a few dollars extra it featured an outdoor sitting porch overlooking the street and a big bathroom with bubble tub). Joe was a terrific and knowledgeable host who really knows his food! He provided two perfect dinner recommendations and served outstanding breakfasts - with our choice of menu items at our choice of seating time, a nice touch. He and Katie (the dog) joined us for breakfast on our last day and over coffee we discussed everything from living in New Bern (he is a transplanted New Yorker) to alternative power sources. That kind of interaction is what makes the B&B experience so much fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Located within walking distance of the river, restaurants and shops the Hanna House is one of the nicest B&B's we have ever stayed at. The hosts were extremely accommodating, the room was lovely, and the breakfasts were indescribably delicious! We stayed in the Bates Room and it had a wonderful jacuzzi tub, a comfortable king size bed, and was impeccably clean. We truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back one day soon. We highly recommend the Hanna House!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed in the Bates room for two nights in October and it was, by far, the best B&B/hotel experience EVER! Amazing home, absolutely spotless rooms (and I am VERY picky), delicious meals and within a stone's throw of downtown New Bern (restaurants, the river and shopping) and all that it has to offer. The Bates room is very nice and the jacuzzi tub is perfect for a nice, relaxing soak! The price was more than fair for what you get. Cannot wait to return!

Try Morgan's around the corner. Great food and fun bar!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi tub rooms are really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Hanna House in October for our friend's wedding for three nights. Very clean & comfortable. The hosts Camille and Joe were very welcoming. Breakfast was amazing. We'll definitely will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Breakfast is definitely the highlight of this B&B. Each day we were able to choose from a wide selection and each day's offering was 5 star. The location is in a quiet neighborhood which was perfect for relaxing bike riding. Our hosts provided excellent recommendations for restaurants, bike paths, and attractions. We will definitely stay again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: I don;t think any of the rooms in this B&B are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanna House

Address: 218 Pollock St., New Bern, NC 28560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanna House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.