We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bakers Kitchen

Bakers Kitchen
227 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2141
+1 252-637-0304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
NEW BERN
1 review
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast on a Monday. It was not busy, yet we waited to be seated, waited for our table to be wiped clean and waited for a server to come by. When she finally did, she acted impatient because we needed a minute to decide. When we ordered, we waited a long time to have our order served. She was again impatient when she was asked to switch something ordered by mistake. Our food was cold, eggs, pancakes, everything. We tried to find her to ask for hot food, but she was deep in conversation with another server and couldn't be interrupted.
We had to be somewhere, so we just ate it as it was. When we told the manager we were not happy, and why, he took a percentage off our check, but clearly could not have cared less.
We are locals, and have enjoyed eating at Baker's Kitchen in the past, but now we will steer clear and advise others to do so as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    73
    24
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK... I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try the Bakers Kitchen for lunch on an anniversary trip to New Bern. We were seated promptly but waited nearly 15 minutes for any one to come to get our drink orders. Once we ordered we received our food in normal time however my husband did not get what he ordered. Everything tasted fine... i got the chicken chili & half a pimento cheese sandwich which was OK. My husband ordered a hot ham & cheese & received a toasted ham & cheese sandwich which he said tasted OK but not what he ordered. He also got a cup of the clam chowder which had very few clams & was mostly just broth. Again it wasn't terrible but I don't know that we would venture back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a recommendation from a co-worker and it was wonderful! Affordable, tasty and quaint! I especially like the cinnamon rolls! Seemed like the wait was going to be long but they are quicker than you expect...surprisingly, have awesome upstairs seating!! Will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate breakfast at the Bakers Kitchen while in New Bern. I tried the french toast and it was very good. Great place for breakfast and lunch with awesome bake goods.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bombastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our group had Bakers Scramble, Hungry Farmer & Farmers Wife. All fantastic, delicious. The French Toast not too dry or mushy,own syrup great. Sausage was large size, scrambled not runny or dry. Will return again at end vacation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakers Kitchen also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bakers Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakers Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.