We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard House Bed & Breakfast

Howard House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howard House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Howard House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
207 Pollock Street, New Bern, NC 28560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 New Bern B&B and Inns
White Oak, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This was our first experience with a B & B as it was for the other couple that went with us. We could not have asked for better service from the comfortable room(Turret room) to the incredible breakfast both mornings. Peter & Brenda are wonderful hosts. Would love to go back sometime. The Cains

Room Tip: We stayed in the Turret room & our friends stayed in the blue room. Each room has its own bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My sister and I arrived in New Bern a day early and needed a place to stay on very short notice. Howard House was recommended and they were able to accommodate us. The host and hostess were both very friendly, pointing out places to visit and restaurants at which to eat. The accommodations were very comfrortable and felt friendly.

It cost half of what our booked room at the Aerie Bed & Breakfast cost and provided similar ammenities. Although, the bed was not as luxurious as that of the Aerie, it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro NC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Upon arrival you are greeted by the most genuine innkeeper and if you are lucky their delightful cat. Snacks are available with homemade fudge in your room. The room I stayed in was delightful - great lighting and mirror in the bathroom - quiet and very restful - bed was soooo comfortable. The common parlor downstairs was an easy place to sit and talk with other guests. Front porch great for relaxing also. Wine/Cheese in the afternoon and the most delicious desserts in the evening really spoiled you. Breakfast was served around our convention schedule and it beat all my expectations. [The convention goers that were staying at local hotels ate continental stand-up at the convention center ;( } The location is perfect for walking uptown and especially good if you are attending anything at the convention center - about a block of easy walking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife said that when she got into our room. Cannot say enough about the Howard House that others haven't already said. Kim made us feel so at home in the house. The afternoon snack was right on time, sodas were in the frig for guests, cake left out after hours for a late night indulgence. Kim had coffee out before breakfast in the upstairs area. However, the best treat was Texas Toast/French Toast topped with pineapples and an egg/cheese cup with fresh fruit on the side. What a great breakfast! We were invited to tour the other rooms in the house--another treat. Our buddy, Tink, escorted us upstairs to our room on one occasion. Close to everything downtown--walking to any venue in downtown is close. After our stay, my wife wanted coffee and breakfast ready in our home just like the Howard House. It will spoil you. We will be back. Plus, this was our first B & B experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

This is a fantastic B&B! The lovely, large, clean rooms and excellent location would be enough to earn a good review, but the food and the people truly put this place over the top. Not only do you get a huge, delicious breakfast, but you also get wine and snacks in the afternoon, and homemade desserts at night. Our hostess, Kim, was as sweet and friendly as she could be - always helpful and full of information when we asked for it, but never pushy and never "in the way" as some B&B owners can be. We really enjoyed our weekend in New Bern and would recommend the Howard House to anyone looking for a very special place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay at this B &B. Kim and crew have thought of everything and it's the personal touches that made us feel right at home. We parked our car and were able to walk to everything. Tryon Palace and great restaurants are within a few blocks. Cozy, comfortable and relaxing. I highly recommend staying at the Howard House.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I stayed here for a week on business because the location, amenities and price were exactly what I needed to be very productive. I booked the Carriage House Guest Suite which was spacious, quiet and comfortable. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised that the reviews I had read and the pictures I saw were an understatement. Breakfast was equally terrific and the guests from other parts of the country made for good conversation and enjoyable rapport. Excellent marks all around. Kudo's to Kim, Jill and Victoria on a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 207 Pollock Street, New Bern, NC 28560
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.