We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Ratty's

Captain Ratty's
202 Middle Street, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560
252 633 2088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 132 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you like a huge steak try the 20 oz steak - many of my friends say it is the best ever! I love the soft shell crab appetizer - if you haven't tried his is a great place to do so. Casual atmosphere shorts to sundress type style jean a fine . Pricing for dinners about $15 to $25 per person

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    113
    67
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Captain Ratty's is a restaurant that we frequent every time we visit New Bern. I like the food and the atmosphere, and it's central to all of the neat downtown shops.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best. Oysters. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were at Captain Ratty's for a late lunch and the food was excellent! Best. Fried. Oysters. Ever.!! Clam chowder was delicious too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chicken Taco @ Capt. Ratty's - YUM!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Last Friday I met some friends downtown for the Art Walk. After cruising down Middle Street
looking at art work by local artist, and listening to some good music, we decided to dine at Capt. Ratty's. I had a cold glass of Pinot Grigio along with very, very delicious soft chicken tacos with a yummy spicy seasoning. My dinner companions ordered Ribeye and the Fried Green Tomato sandwich and both said their dinners were fantastic. I look forward to going back to Ratty's for the same taco dish. YUM!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Glad We Came Back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had not been to Capt. Ratty's for a few years and decided to try it again this week, and very glad that we did. Two visits in a week - Lunch and Dinner. Both times the food and adult beverage selection were extremely good and the wait staff was outstanding. Suggest either roof top dining when the weather is good or the Wine Bar for a quiet "adults-only" dining experience; keeping in mind that getting to both areas provide excellent stair-climbing exercise. There is, however, plenty of seating downstairs. Their menu offers a very good array of food choices - certainly well-rounded enough for the adventurous diner and the picky eater. Try the Fried Green Tomato BLT - an interesting twist on the old classic; and the New England Clam Chowder - one of the best we've had in the area. The calamari is tender and plentiful. Burgers are cooked to order and tasty. The fish is fresh and plentiful. Oh, and did I mention that the wait staff was efficient, friendly and experienced? We'll not wait so long to come back for another excellent dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ratty's also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Ratty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Ratty's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.