We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good birthday dinner!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Ratty's

Captain Ratty's
202 Middle Street, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560
252 633 2088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Havelock, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a good birthday dinner!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went for dinner arriving about 6:15 pm. It was approximately 10 minutes before our drink order was taken. At 7:00, we commented on the lack of food after the amount of time we had been there. When our dinner arrived, though the food was good, they had taken it upon themselves to select my side dish when they apparently ran out of what I had ordered. Service was quite slow, very poor. Food was good but not worth the money. And I really didn't appreciate paying for the food they picked out for me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    104
    63
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss depends on the chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been to Captain Rattys a few times over the past year trying to give the restaurant a better chance of a excellent review.I must say the staff is always top notch being friendly and attentive and have a excellent knowledge of the menu.My problem is the food is not always the same ..let me explain. I find half the time the food is very good and the other half the food is adequate at best.I suspect they may have different chefs on different days. On my last visit my food arrived cold so cold that I picked up the mashed potatoes in one big lump. The waitress was very apologetic and took the plate back and heated up the food.I do not know what the problem is with the lack of consistency but I do hope they solve the problem because I do enjoy the staff and the atmosphere. I am not by any means a picky eater and always try to give the establishment my best opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Historic town bar & cafe ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Really enjoyed the nice clean atmosphere,great service ,drinks and make sure you try their cannonball shrimp and homemade chips and dip
Will certainly stop by again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have been to Captain Ratty's many times and the watch word is "consistent." Very good service, simple, but well-prepared snacks and meals at a very reasonable price. They have one of the best bar's in town and certainly a big city European level wine selection. Don't miss the Wednesday night wine tasting for both value and selection. I recently had the Chicken Pot Pie, which was a special of the day. It was wonderful! I wish it was in there daily offering. Downside, it can be packed and sometimes rather tightly packed. It is not your "First Date" place as it has a beach seafood décor with Pub Grub offerings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Xmas eve disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a less than stellar experience on Christmas eve, consisting of part of the meal missing with the excuse of "being out of it" but it was not replaced.
My son had water spilt on him, the kids did not get their food early as we requested and was overall a long fustrating experience, it was our first trip and we had heard great things but it was disapointing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ratty's also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Ratty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Ratty's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.