We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Fairfield Harbour

Save Saved
You added The Resort at Fairfield Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Resort at Fairfield Harbour
475 Broad Creek Road, New Bern, NC 28560 (Formerly Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Harbour)   |  
Hotel amenities
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This resort is a little step back in time. The condos need a little updating, but are overall pretty nice. We stayed in a 2 bedroom plus room and it was pretty nice. Needed a few touch-ups but was ok. We didn't really do alot on this trip but hang around the resort and use the pool. It is very quiet here, so if you're looking for a nice place to relax, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia,SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are Wyndham owners and stayed at this property for a long weekend to visit the New Bern area. We stayed in the Sandcastle Cove units. We found our unit to be very dated and in need of some general repair and upkeep. The refrigerator was not working well - condensation built up inside and 'rained' on the items in there. The cabinet doors are all but worn out.It was also not very clean, we found several dead bugs on the floor of the loft and candy wrappers behind the curtains. Several of the glasses and silverware pieces were dirty. The location is great and the grounds are so pretty. We ate one night in the restaurant and it was so loud we couldn't really carry on a conversation. The food was OK. I don't think we will stay here again.

Room Tip: If anyone in your party has mobility issues ( My dad does and struggled with the stairs in and out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of the most beautiful places my husband and I have ever stayed. A friend of mine let us use her timeshare to stay two nights here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was friendly, the room was more than enough for us and gorgeous and we were decently close to all the places we needed without being in the middle of the city like we're used to on vacation. The view out on your personal patio is lovely as well, wish we would have spent more time out there. (Originally stayed October 2011)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We are also Wyndham Owners and just got back from staying in the golf villas in Fairfield Harbour. The units are just average. In fact, the sofa and chair in the "A" unit where we stayed was frayed and worn. The first night I used the jacuzzi in the unit I found black particles floating in the water. The owner services desk and check in area was only open for limited hours each day and if you needed anything after it closed you were directed to call the maintenace people. The only area that saved this from being a poor rating was the recreation area people who were more than happy to help with anything once you got to their building. Also, where we stayed was definitely away from the action and we had to travel to go to the grocery store and any restaurants since there are none on site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The units are excellent, service is excellent, but the pool area was dirty. They allowed children to be in the Hot Tub when they were under the age 6. No ONE should be there unless they are 16. In the indoor pool area the children were unsupervised running around diving into the water. There was a plastic bottle floating in the pool. I was under impression you are not allowed to bring any type of beverages to pool area. Seen open containers of beverages, coolers etc...Paper strewn about the pool area, windows of the indoor pool so filthy you could barely see the sun. Did they clean them, ever? Door going into indoor pool filthy. Need to be clean at least three times a day, morning, lunch, and around 4 pm. The girls who worked there, well, only the Africian American girl was working. The other three girls flirting with the guys there. I pay money for my unit and I expect a clean professional, friendly atmosphere. 1141 Broad Street in Unit 6 week 25 Fairfield Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3rd time staying in this development. Enjoyed it every time. This is just like being at home. Nice development/ resort. Condos are clean, quiet, well stocked and convenient. The recreation facility is fantastic and has a lot of activities for all ages. Spent every morning in the gym/pool. Check in a breeze and the staff very nice. Gym staff was very friendly too. I met so many residents and they made me feel right at home. I hated to leave. The road to the facility is long and windy - 7 miles off of the Highway but that was fine. Watch for deer in the evening. Hoping they can get the restaurant on site back open and I would never ave to leave. I cannot say enough positive words about Fairfield Harbour but you must go. Oh and New Bern is a nice little historic town so worth exploring. Captain Ratty's, Morgan Tavern to eat. Mitchell's Hardware, an old fashion general store. Tyron Palace.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are Wyndham owners, and this was our first trip to this resort and this area. We fell in love with both. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we arranged for a second week while we were there, so we got to experience two differest condo units. Our first was in the Windjammer II units, attached four unit condos, old, but comfortable. 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, with full kitchen and both a screened-in porch and an open porch, with a stunning full-length view of the lake/pond. Only drawbacks here were the amount of light that shone into the front bedroom from a large glass panel near the ceiling that had no way to close off, and the noise that leaked through from adjoining units. If you're assigned one of these units, ask for an end one. Our second week we moved to the Sandcastle II area, a multi-level unit (6 to a building) with EXCEPTIONAL sound proofing between condos. 2 bdrm, 2-1/2 baths, with an additional loft area with two beds and a play area--would be great for families. Also on a lake/pond, with a small patio including umbrella. The resort grounds were beautiful, the rec center had everything you need. On-site employees are terrific. Slight drawback was that you had to pay to do some of the things, like mini-golf, etc. There are tours available right from the resort in mini-buses or boats. Then there's the New Bern area itself and the places you can get to in day-trips (Atlantic Beach, Beaufort, Washington, Oriental etc) We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Fairfield Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Fairfield Harbour

Address: 475 Broad Creek Road, New Bern, NC 28560 (Formerly Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Harbour)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty lodging in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort features breath-taking waterfront, wildlife and golf course views. Each unit offers a furnished living area and full kitchen. All share in our generous amenities such as the marina, golf course, restaurant, pool and recreation center. We are 10 minutes from historic downtown New Bern and 45 minutes from the beautiful Crystal Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Resort at Fairfield Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Harbour Hotel New Bern
Wyndham New Bern
New Bern Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Fairfield Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.