We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Leaf

Bay Leaf
309 Middle St, Unit 6, New Bern, NC
252-638-5323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Indian food at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Who would have thought that in little New Bern, NC we would find some of the best Indian food we have ever had! We love Indian spices and we often eat in Indian restaurants when we travel. We've had great food all over the country and this was every bit as good as restaurants we have visited in major metropolitan areas. The Samosas were huge and well stuffed. We ordered our two favorite dishes- Chicken Tikka Masala and Lamb Saag. In both dishes, the meat was so tender that no knife was required. All the condiments were excellent and the na'an was hot and fresh. We spoke with one of the family members who own the restaurant and told her how much we enjoyed our dinner and in honor of our first visit to the restaurant, she presented us with a small portion of dessert, which was lovely. Make sure to give this place a try-- you will be wanting to go back for more very soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    37
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our high expectations were met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The food is terrific. The waiter asked my husband to assign a number to how spicy he wanted his butter chicken...he told him 6 1/2. The spiciness was perfect. My chicken tikka masala was excellent. We also ordered the garlic naan which was great. The small restaurant is set back from the street, but there is a sidewalk sign pointing the way. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. If you love Indian food, you will love Bay Leaf...when we walked in the door and smelled the spices we knew we were in the right place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We like Indian food and my husband especially enjoys a buffet where he can try many different items. Everything we had was at least good and several buffet items were excellent. Price is reasonable for quality of buffet and service was exceptionally attentive and nice. Absolutely will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The service was wonderful.. the food was lackluster. I wouldn't go back. I went for dinner. I've heard that they have a great food bar for lunch, so if you decide to try it, you may want to go at lunch so you can sample lots of items.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The dinner plates are delicious and there is a huge variety of dishes from mild to spicy. To get a feel for the different foods you can try the buffet for lunch. The rice pudding and mango custard are incredible! Best Indian food in the area! This is a must try when in New Bern!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Leaf also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bay Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.