We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Leaf

Bay Leaf
309 Middle St, Unit 6, New Bern, NC
252-638-5323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brewster, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I just ate at the "Bay Leaf". The food was great!!!!! It is just as good as the Indian restaurant that we go to in Brewster New York. J'ai Pore has great food but the Bay Leaf also has great service. We were at the YMCA and John was very friendly to us just as he is at the Bay Leaf. Avis is a sweet lady who made the time to come over to us to make sure that everything was alright. We felt so comfortable and just had to go back to the Bay Leaf a few days later. Go to this restaurant. You will be VERY happy:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    37
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Bern's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Best Restaurant In New Bern By Far. IM A New Yorker With A Vacation Home In New Bern. I Also Happen To Be In The Restaurant Business In New York. Avis And Her Son John Are Doing An Outstanding Job And Serve Great Indian Cuisine In The Heart Of New Bern. Make A Point To Stop In. You Will Not Be Disapointed.Actually, The Entire Staff Is Friendly And Enjoy Talking To All The Guests They Have The Pleasure Of Serving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollocksville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a small and charming restaurant serving possibly the finest Indian cuisine that you will find any where at any price. You are always warmly greeted and provide with personal attention and service. I recently over heard a guest comment that the food was far superior to an Indian restaurant that she and her husband had attended in Washington, DC. You must try this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very Very pleased with the quality and value- GOURMET Indian Food, among the best we've ever had. Thanks, highly recommended. We will make it a planned destination on any future visit to New Bern

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food, service, and atmosphere is excellent! The atmosphere is welcoming and the customer is treated as if they were part of the family.
The food is excellent. It has a nice flavor and is delightful. You can choose the level of spiciness in any dish that you decide to try.
The service is also great! It is quick, and lovely!
Many people will love the Bay Leaf restaurant. Even if they do not like indian food and if they want to try Indian food, I suggest going to the Bay Leaf restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Leaf also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bay Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.