We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Leaf

Bay Leaf
309 Middle St, Unit 6, New Bern, NC
252-638-5323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Bay Leaf was a real treat. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and sparkling clean. The service was excellent. The food was delicious with many items to choose from. Will return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    49
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A hint of India in a great town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant out as it had great local and trip advisor reviews.
The restaurant is situated at the end of covered walkway on Middle Street so be careful you might walk by.

The welcome was great and we were advised for Friday and Saturday were the most busy so reservations were not accepted. On arrival 6:30 PM we were shown to a table straight away and observed a few more tables available. it seemed from 7 PM people were waiting but still not for long as there are quite a few tables in the establishment.

The restaurant was of pleasant decor but the tables were a bit too close together, one observation to confirm this was our waiter was tending to the loud party of 4 table to our left and I had to move my glass of water thinking he was going to back into it at any moment. Yes confirmed the tables are too close together.

Bless those people to our left, one man was questioning our waiter as to how long he had been in the US.
I thought he was going to ask for his green card and social security number. enough said about them

Our waiter was very good and knowledgeable about the menu and the grades of spicy you may or may not enjoy. My Darling wife who loves Spicy asked for a grade 7. Me of course tried to show my super human gastronomic endurance asked for a 2 when really I was needing a -5.

The food is great and caters to the vegetarians also which is great as my wife is Vegan and an Aries.
Only criticism would be when we ordered the wine, the waiters wine etiquette was a lot to be desired.

It should be as follows;

After presenting the bottle a small taste of wine is then poured for the host. The host examines the cork then the look of the wine, smells it, and tastes it to ensure the wine hasn't gone bad. If the host accepts the wine, about half a wine glass is poured for each guest, first to the women at the table and then to the men.

Not bring 2 glasses and slap the opened bottle on the table and leave the customer to pour the 1st glass, it does not work that way especially as the wine is most important with the meal.

Overall I give this restaurant a very good but refine your table layout and wine skills.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“hallelujah! my prayers have been answered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've lived in New Bern 3 years and have said almost weekly I'd give anything for an Indian restaurant. Not only do we now have one it is EXCELLENT!! Very pleased with my first visit and will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice little place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Food was delicious, prices were reasonable and service was above average. If you like Indian cuisine, you'll like the Bay Leaf.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food in New Bern--finally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I were so excited to try Bay Leaf. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the prices are very reasonable. Unfortunately, there were some mistakes made the night we went and we waited more than 30 minutes for our dinner while others who came in after us received their meals. After speaking with a manager (maybe owner) we discovered the waiter had not put in our order to the kitchen. We were ready to leave but the manager seemed genuinely upset and made it right--she graciously gave us our dinner on the house. Our meals arrived shortly thereafter and we were really pleased--it was absolutely fantastic! If the food had been anything less, we would have felt that the night was ruined. This is a new restaurant with a few kinks that need to be worked out. However, they appear to have good management who know how to right a wrong and they have a great kitchen staff. We will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Leaf also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bay Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.