We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy in New Bern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites New Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites New Bern to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites New Bern
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3465 Dr.M L King Jr. Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Comfy in New Bern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here on a recent business trip to the New Bern area. I was concerned about the hotel since I've never stayed at a Candlewood Suites hotel before.
This hotel is located just west of the highway, near the local mall, and all the usual chains. Being well set back from the road its very quiet. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The lobby 'store' is stocked with lots of things that their guests might need, including a few unexpected treats.
The rooms are a little on the small side, for being suites. The bed is set into a small alcove with just enough room to shimmy down either side. The desk/work area is wedged in between the Kitchen and the TV/dresser. The bathroom is ample sized, nicely laid out, with a great shower.
Most important is that its quiet - very quiet - no guest noise, no road noise.
Since all units have kitchens there is no complimentary breakfast. Either carry in, or visit the lobby store. But instead of being stuck with a mini coffee brewer there's a real coffee pot with real coffee - no crummy pods to put up with.
All in all, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
9
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Ge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stayed (actually still staying) here for 6 nights (one-bedroom suite). Efficient check-in even at 1130 pm. Very clean place. Friedly and helpful employees. Nicely appointed suite also well suited for business meetings with 3-4 persons. Kitchen has everything one needs.
Location close to Highway, shops, post office, restaurants. I would come here again anytime.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Came to New Bern to ride in MS Bike Ride. Had booked hotel in March for the rate of $98 per night. Was charged $130 per night. Manager said employee gave me wrong rate in March. Would not change rate and was very rude. I did not have choice but to stay since I was scheduled to be at bike ride @ 7 A.M. Called home office. They did said that they had record of me being given $90 rate but they said that manager was only one to refund money. Did give me priorty points but were not equal to amount of money that I was charged! You can be sure that I do not stay there during next year's Bike Ride or for that matter ever again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

New property February 2010. Still has that new smell about it. Had one Bedroom Suite and it was very nice. Only appliance missing was oven. Plenty of seating, two TV, closets, very easy access, many restuarants, shopping within 1/2 mile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The hotel was new so of course it was very nice. The room was nice with a kitchen and all. However we were on the 1st floor by the laundry room and it was very noisy so needless to say no sleep. Also I had pre-paid for my room on line so when I checked in they wanted my card so they could keep a hold of $150.00 on it in case we messed up the room. They were nice and gave me the option of paying $60.00 in case instead of the $150.00. However when I checked my bank statement the next morning they not only took my $60.00 in cash they also put a hold on my debit card for the $150.00. Then they told me there was nothing they could do about it since it was the weekend and the manager who did it wasn't here. I was not very happy about it and for this I will not stay here again. Just be mindful of what you give them at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The Candlewood Suites New Bern has been open for about six weeks prior to our stay. The rooms were nice and clean. It still had the new hotel "smell". The room was very comfortable.
This is an extended stay so, there is no breakfast included. The rooms have a kitchen so you are able to fix your own breakfast. The hotel is conviently located near various shopping centers.
The staff was friedly and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New Bern

Address: 3465 Dr.M L King Jr. Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites New Bern 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especially designed for stays of a week or more, at Candlewood Suites® you’ll find just what you need to live, work and relax comfortably. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen and the new Comforts of HomeTM Bedding Collection. Our signature amenities you’ll find at this guest preferred leader in extended stay hotels. Consider us homeTM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New Bern Hotel New Bern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites New Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.