We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger licking good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moore's Barbeque

Moore's Barbeque
3711 Dr M L King Jnr Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562
(252) 638-3937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Finger licking good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent food across the board. This more than makes up for having to stand in line to buy your food and then find a table to consume it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NOT REALLY WANTED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My first thoughts on Moore's is not the food but how they make me feel when I have gone there. First you get into the line where they rush you through, You are not allowed to stop and think. ITS RUSH , RUSH AND RUSHED...Their BBQ is good, the fries as most restaurants is under cooked. I have tried their fried chicken and fish but usually would get the BBQ. I don't really think I have gotten a bad meal but I just do not like to go to a restaurant, not even a fast service restaurant and feel as though I am being pushed through. It's pretty much "order quickly, give me your money and get out of the way"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Order at the counter. Very fast service. BBQ was good. Small plate was a lot to eat. Came with slaw and hush puppies. Flounder was delicious. Fried chicken was tender and juicy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Real NC Barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Moore's is a long time barbeque restaurant in New Bern NC.
They have their wood fired grill going to cook the pork and season it well with a tangy vinegar based sauce. Great for
a lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Its been about a year since my last review, so....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I will tell you, nothing has changed.

Still a wonderful experience.

Went there with brother and a number of family members. Though I usually get chicken or fish, I went with a sammy this time. My bro got a plate.

That stuff is good. I always ask for "extra crispy" fries, and they do a great job of accommodating my request.

The only thing I would change would be to scrap the "cole slaw" and replace with mid-state "bbq slaw (vinegar based)" but I know that aint happening. And for cole slaw, it is pretty good, too.

Oh, one other change, get some Cheerwine on tap. Puh - Leze!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moore's Barbeque also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Moore's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.