We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Cute Shop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cow Cafe

Cow Cafe
319 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-4928
252-672-9269
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: American
Description: Home made ice cream; made in store. Sandwiches and plate lunches. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Description: Home made ice cream; made in store. Sandwiches and plate lunches. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really Cute Shop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our 3 year old is nicknamed "Moo Moo" and she adores cows so anytime we find ourselves in New Bern we love to stop in the Cow Cafe! The ice cream is really good, a tad pricey in my opinion but what ice cream shop isn't, the decor is adorable, the staff is always friendly, and our daughter loves the play area in the back! The only thing I could say is every time we go in the tables seem to be really sticky so they could benefit from frequent cleaning but we always return and the cow-theme never goes out of style! I've heard good things about their food but have never tried anything other than ice cream as we generally stop somewhere for lunch (37th Street Pizzeria!!!) and visit the Cow Cafe later in the day!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    29
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Cow Cafe is a real experience. It is a great place to take children. The food and ice cream are excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Cute, but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Ice cream was good, but a little too soft. All flavors were home made. But from the time you order till the time you get you ice crem it took about 10-15 mins. Way to long. Floors were a bit dirty and too few tables.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So moo-ch fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stopped in to have a milk shake and ice cream cones. They have a cute little gift shop area, a little pricey I think, but it's very limited on what it has. The ice cream is good. The counter people seemed a little stressed out when we were there, but they were nice. It's a very cute place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

great ice cream and kids love the cow decor - lunch menu is okay nothing to write home about. walking distance to Union Point Park and other things in center of New Bern

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cow Cafe also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cow Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.