We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant

Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant
100 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4941
252-514-0033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front St
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the dinner highlight of my NewBern trip. Marvelous food and service. The "Ada Mae" is docked there and is a must see authentic skip-jack. Beautiful water views and a great wine list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    106
    48
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Spot on the Water!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've enjoyed Persimmons for both lunches and dinners since it opened a few years ago. Although consistency is sometimes an issue, the last few times we've dined here it was clear they've improved! Our meals have included both lunch and dinner items. I particularly enjoy the fish and chips because of the way the fish is prepared with panko instead of standard breadcrumbs or coating. Additionally, the sweet potato fries are a nice change from the standard chips/fries, although they might be a tad sweet for some. My wife has enjoyed several of their salads, and likes the Persimmons salad, which is always fresh and tasty. We've also enjoyed both beer and wine here, but nothing extraordinary. The view is great, the service keeps improving, and the food is generally spot on. My only minor complaint is Persimmons tends to be a bit higher than other New Bern restaurants. However, their location is definitely worth it. Ideally, this is a 4.5 star review, so I'm limited to giving only 4.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a nice quaint restaurant that sits right on the water. From the outside it looks like an old house but on the inside it is modern and larger than it appears.

The menu is imaginative and varied. Be warned, not a lot of vegetarian options but you can get a vegetable plate choosen from the entire menu.

There wasn't a bad view in the house and the staff was very friendly.

I would return

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasted their sample at Beaufort Wine Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Persimmons had a booth at the Grand Tasting tent, which culminated the Beaufort Wine and Food Week. Their crab mixture on a toasted wonton with strawberry slice was absolutely fantastic - the best of the entire show, imho. It surely must be indicative of a creative chef/owner. Even though we don't live in the city, I will make sure to be hungry when we drive through New Bern next time so we can try an entire meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location, but that's about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I don't thing there is a bad seat in the place. Go for that. The food and service are just so so. But if you enjoying watching the river go buy then go for lunch and just know that the view is the best thing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.