We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Glass Cafe and Bakery

Sea Glass Cafe and Bakery
1803 S. Glenburnie Road, New Bern, NC 28562
252-634-2327
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

So, they're located in a small strip shopping center, nowhere close to the charming waterfront or downtown. Never mind that! Wonderful breakfast!!! Sea Glass Eggs Benedict...outstanding, and perfectly cooked eggs! The cranberry pecan French Toast - delicious! Obviously they are doing something right because the place was packed. We made a reservation for 9:30. Thought we were pretty silly doing that because there were plenty of tables available when we arrived. When we left at 10:30, all tables were full and people were waiting outside. It's worth it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This little gem in not right in the downtown area, but is very accessible at only about 5 minute drive away. I have eaten there for breakfast and for lunch and both were scrumptious! The food is freshly prepared and tastes incredible! They have a coffee bar that I love...you can make your own concoction from a variety of wonderful coffees, creams, and sweeteners available. I had the chicken salad sandwich for lunch. You could tell the bread was homemade..it was divine! The chicken salad also tasted fresh. It had little add-ins that made it spectacular (golden raisins, maybe??). This place is reasonably priced and is bright and cheery inside! The wait staff is very friendly and they treat you like family!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wife and I ate there for lunch on a Saturday. Both breakfast and lunch was available and many specials were including on the large board. Wife got eggs benedict and I had the crabcake sandwich which was very well prepared and included a nice sauce to go with it. Coffee was also good and strong. $9.50 for a crabcake sandwich is outstanding. Service was great. Not fine dining but perfect for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was very impressed with their breakfast , there was four of us eating and we all had something different , my eggs and hash browns were delicious and I splurged and had a blueberry homemade muffin, yummy . They have a good variety off coffee choices

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Find. True Southern Hospitality and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I came here on a whim after driving towards the outer banks and couldn't have found a better spot. It is an adorable small café with daily specials and delicious brunch offerings. Great pricing for the food that you get. Very friendly staff and a quiet location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sea Glass Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Glass Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.