We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant

Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant
221 South Front Street, New Bern, NC
252-635-3232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 148 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The restaurant is pricey, the bar is a nice place to hang out when you do not want to be around the younger crowd. There is not any drama there. Just sit and drink a drink and hang out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unusual”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The service was good, but the food was not! Maybe we ordered the wrong thing, my husband had the special, I had meatloaf, but neither could finish. And the prices were very expensive.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Early Bird Specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I enjoyed my dinner in this historical buiding from the 1700's where several tables are grouped in six different rooms. I was in town for business and was comfortable dining in this setting by myself. They have a good selection of 10 Early Bird Dinners to choose from; I chose the crabcake dinner and it was good. The wines by the glass were a reasonable price. A friend told me to be sure to get the Softshell Crab Stack if they had it on the menu, and they did, but I did not order it as it was 3 softshell crabs and a crabcake which with no one to share it with was too much for me to eat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good greeting,service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We visit every couple of months because we find that the food and service are good. Went last night with friends when they were quite busy and had prompt service. Food not quite as good as we have had numerous times before but absolutely nothing wrong with it. Just a bit below par.
Our room was full but we had not problems at all in conversing. All in all I have no problem in recommending for a fine meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have eaten at most every restaurant in New Bern, and this is the finest dining in town.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.