We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 of 10 stars for taste; 0 for cat urine odor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 247 Craven

247 Craven
247 Craven St, New Bern, NC 28560-2153
252-635-1879
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
247 Craven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pollock
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“6 of 10 stars for taste; 0 for cat urine odor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Dined at this café for lunch on 11/30, during a brief stay in New Bern. While the menu options were short and few, the food was decent and a step up from the normal café fare. Service was fine. The biggest mystery and lasting impression for me was the undeniable odor of what smelled like cat urine when I entered the café. Not sure why a restaurant would have such an odor and why it would be so strong. Maybe there is a resident cat?? I noticed the café has antique rugs under some tables. It is quite possible they were once urinated on. However it happened, I hope it was an isolated incident and gets remedied soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmoser, Owner at 247 Craven, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow, I certainly apologize for your experience. I can assure you there has never been a cat inside this restaurant and certainly not on any rug. This is the first complaint I've had about any foul odor at all in over 3 years. A comment made in person would have been great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    55
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small, but very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This restaurant is the best place to have dinner in town. They have great service, creative menus and a good wine selection. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great wine list and the food is excellent. A definite hit in New Bern and will do well with the local foodies. Limited seating which makes it wise to have reservations but worth the effort. The staff are most helpful and knowledgeable about the food and wines.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I visited Craven 247 on October 12, 2013. I found a variety of foods offered and beautifully prepared. One in our group is vegan and they were also able to provide a great meal for her. I recommend Craven 247!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our Inn Keeper recommended this little jewel. Our dinner was stellar. It is most important that you save room for the desserts as Chef's grandmother makes them. I was swooning over the strawberry cake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 247 Craven also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to 247 Craven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 247 Craven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.