We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient cleanly stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Hotel Drive, New Bern, NC 28562   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient cleanly stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Springhill Suites New Bern carries through the consistency of the Marriott brand in the small New Bern area. All the things you expect from Marriott's properties are carried through here: complimentary breakfast, high quality mattresses, free newspaper, friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
65
26
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is very clean and room was spacious. Check in was fine and we had everything we needed. In the morning, we expected a little more for breakfast as is the Marriott style. however there was no fresh fruit, waffle tasted strange and was not the usual. I would give the breakfast an average rating, but I would not rave about it since I always look forward to a waffle. When I chose the cereal there were only 2 kinds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a nice stay here. Room as spacious and clean. We were able to have friends come up and was comfortable for all in room.
Breakfast was wonderful with warm food and they changed it up every morning so you had a variety during our stay.
Front desk was really helpful.
Just need stronger curtains for light outside.

Room Tip: Ask to be in back of hotel if you like it darker. Flood lights on front. Lots of nice restaurants ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, WI
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Every time I come to New Bern I stay here. The staff is attentive and friendly. They have a great breakfast buffet which they change up often. It is very convenient off the freeway and centrally located in town. Great for family travel the rooms are suites with great bedding and nice furnishings.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at the end of the hallway as the people using the stairs can be noisy. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

It started from check in. All staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were very clean and relaxing. The hotel was conveniently located near everything. I would definitely choose to stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

In general, this is a great choice for your New Bern stay:
- The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room to spread out your papers and computer to work. I am generally a fan of the newer SpringHill Suites for business travel, with solid wi-fi, desk and table in the living area, large glass showers, and modern furnishings....this one matched my previous experiences in Chicago, etc. The rate was awesome at under $130 a night, the locale was decent for business purposes, and you are right down the road from adorable downtown New Bern.

The only poor experience for me was interaction with the staff on duty. Upon arrival, a desk clerk whose name begins with N (I would type out her name, but I hate to put her name out on a public forum...I'm fairly certain management knows to whom I am referring) was working the desk and was seated behind the tall front desk, not really visible. No big deal, until she stood up, didn't offer eye contact and greeted me-- not with a 'hello" or with any other words of welcome for that matter-- but with a flat "checking in"...not even in the form of a question; just "checking in." No acknowledgement of Marriott rewards status, no going over the room rate, no review of room type or reservation details, no registration card to initial with room rate. I was simply given a key, and no other welcome was given. Her tone and general energy of disdain for even having to do her job was shockingly off-putting. Even when leaving for dinner, she was again seated behind the desk, never looked up, and certainly didn't offer any greeting. Not the best representation of hospitality and that IS the business you are in, whether you are at a $130 night business class hotel or a $500/night property. It doesn't matter, at least be friendly.

I even had problems with the TV, but after the unfriendly check-in, there was no way I was about to call for assistance.

I'll give you another try when in town, as I would like to believe the rudeness of one staff member isn't indicative of the staff on the whole.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I travel to New Bern every week for business and have been doing so for the past 2 1/2 years. What better review can I give this Marriott other than to say that not once in my over 130 weekly trips have I ever considered staying anywhere else. I have stayed at many different Marriot's over the years and I can honestly say that the staff at this location is one of the most helpful and pleasant groups of people I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. They could not be any more professional while at the same time accommodating.

I give this Marriott location, it's management and staff my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern

Address: 300 Hotel Drive, New Bern, NC 28562
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Bern
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our Southern hospitality, where everything old is new again! Travel in style at SpringHill Suites by Marriott in New Bern, NC, the all-suite hotel that seamlessly blends design and functionality offering the modern amenities you need to stay refreshed and focused - all at an affordable price. Spacious suites and vibrant lobbies offer flexible spaces perfect for working, meeting or relaxing in New Bern. Take the stress out of travel and dive into our relaxing pool, work out in our fitness center or take advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Our Market is open 24/7 for snacks and necessities. Enjoy our complimentary new breakfast with fresh choices for a customized start to your day-like eggs with local salsa or Greek yogurt and oatmeal complete with a toppings bar for a variety of options. Discover SpringHill Suites on your next visit to New Bern and leave feeling relaxed and refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott New Bern Hotel New Bern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott New Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.