We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sea food restaurant without seafood?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MJ's Raw Bar & Grille

MJ's Raw Bar & Grille
216 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
252-635-6890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A sea food restaurant without seafood?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a great place to eat lobster and seen that this place had lobster. We walk in and ask if they serve lobster. The hostess said they do but didn't have any left. Smh, was very disappointed....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    104
    36
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very unassuming storefront. As a matter of fact, have walked by it before without a second glance. Sorry we didn't stop in sooner. Had dinner for 5 people with wine and dessert and the bill was $82! Everything we ate was delicious-shrimp poboy, oyster poboy, crab clusters(tasted like butter) and the crab cake sandwich with Jamaican tartar sauce!! Will definitely come back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro NC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great late night place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Only went here after a meeting/dinner and had late night drinks ...the waitress suggested trying the oysters since they were on sale and we did - very, very good....friendly place ...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Good for lunch, but not the crabcake sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate lunch here while attending the Main Street NC conference in New Bern. It is an attractive place, with seasonal outside seating. The menu is extensive, with some good choices. Service is prompt and cheerful. My husband had the oyster po boy and sweet potato fries, both of which were excellent. My crabcake sandwich was disappointing, and I ordered it because it was advertised on the menu as the best crabcake sandwich in New Bern. The crabcake itself was slightly skimpy and was very flat, as if someone had flattened it with a spatula. It contained mostly lump crabmeat, however. Prices were reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We arrived late to New Bern and were looking for a place for dinner. This place was very busy and lively so we put our name on a waiting list and were surprised to be seated within ten minutes. Wait staff was very friendly and ordered a seafood platter with mussels, shrimp and oysters. All very good and service was fast. Love when a restaurant has personality and this place does. Location is also very good. We walked around afterwards to get a feel for New Bern and will look forward to coming back to the area. We were not rushed and did not feel the need to finish our meal and move on. Would return and try more seafood choices on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Raw Bar & Grille also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to MJ's Raw Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MJ's Raw Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.