We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MJ's Raw Bar & Grille

MJ's Raw Bar & Grille
216 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
252-635-6890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 145 Restaurants in New Bern
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped in for lunch while visiting historical New Bern. We both had fried flounder with sweet potato fries and slaw. Everything was very good, particularly the fries. Portions could have been a little larger. Service was very good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    93
    30
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have visited New Bern, NC 6 times and have tried many of their restaurants. Although MJ's may not be "top shelf", it is cozy and friendly and have the best fresh seafood available at reasonable prices. Instead of "fancy" for New Years Eve, we've returned to MJ's three years in a row and have NEVER been disappointed. I highly recommend them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in New Bern NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Eat lunch there 3 times a week and consistently have excellent meals, service and atmosphere. Don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

MJ's is a wonderful restaurant on Middle Street in downtown New Bern. The seating is somewhat limited, but cozy and the food is delicious. Always great service with a smile. The seafood (clams, oysters and shrimp) were great! Best to have a reservation if eating after 6:00pm., but the staff will accommodate you as soon as possible. We had a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had heard that this was a good place, so my wife and I stopped in one evening. It was apparently "oyster night" and although I love oysters every way, we decided to order off the menu...big mistake! Food was just average. We had been travelling and were tired and hungry so we ordered cocktails, appetizer and main course at the same time...mistake number 2. I should have learned years ago not to do this. The cocktails and appetizer came, immediately followed by the salad, immediately followed by the entrée. We also each had one glass of wine and to add to our displeasure, when we finally finished our meal every glass and dish from the entire meal was still on the table. There was hardly a clear spot anywhere! I could have asked to have them removed, but after a while we were curious whether they would notice on their own.

We are willing to concede that we may have been there on a "bad night" but would not put this on our 'A List'.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Raw Bar & Grille also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to MJ's Raw Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MJ's Raw Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.