We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to New Bern Mall and Downtown area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn New Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn New Bern to your Saves list
Hampton Inn New Bern
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Hotel Drive, New Bern, NC 28562   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Close to New Bern Mall and Downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hampton Inn New Bern is an ok place to stay. Rooms are clean and breakfast is good. However the rooms could have been updated. The beds were OK, however room could have been painted. The baseboards and door jams were chipped in several noticeable areas. Also the shower could have been cleaner. Overall is was an ok place to sleep and have breakfast. Staff was friendly. However, beware they will not let you check in earlier than 3:00 p.m.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Hi, Greg. I’m so sorry to see that we fell below your expectations. We definitely strive to be a lot better than “ok” when it comes to our service, accommodations, and amenities. Even though we are over 20 years young, we’ve completed multiple renovations in the past couple years and in 2015, set to revamp our guest rooms as well. I will definitely look into all of the issues you had mentioned. We do allow early check ins, as it is our goal to provide the best in guest service, however this can be difficult should we have sold out the night before. If your room is available, we will most certainly let you register so you can focus on relaxing and enjoying your time in the wonderful New Bern. I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    51
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
75
60
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband & I recently stayed in the Hampton Inn in New Bern, NC for two nights. The room was clean, quiet, & comfortable. From our registration process to our check- out the most outstanding aspect was the customer service. Everyone went well beyond expectations to make certain we had an enjoyable visit. We were given recommendations, directions, happy notes, and warm smiles throughout the visit. One young man stayed past his working hours to discuss North Carolina living with my husband. We highly recommend this Hampton Inn and will certainly stay here again when driving through North Carolina. We also recommend that the Hampton Inn chain use this site and people as role models for excellence. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you so much for all of your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! I hope you truly got the sense that we treat all of our guests like family here at the Hampton Inn in New Bern. We really appreciate the recommendations and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Our overall experience at the Hampton Inn New Bern was very good. The service was excellent and the cleanliness was very good. The hotel is very close to many places to eat and shop. The overall appearance is nice but dated and the elevators need to be serviced because they jerk when they reach a floor and the door opens. Our overall experience was very good overall and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Hello, William. Thank you for taking the time to provide our future travelers with your feedback regarding your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our excellent service and clean accommodations. I’m sorry to hear that the elevators jerked when you were here and that problem has since been corrected. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you nevertheless. The next time you visit us in New Bern, I know you will feel more confident knowing that the elevators are working seamlessly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ringgold, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

From the time I walked in I was greeted with a smile. Very clean property inside and out. The breakfast was very good, fresh and lots to choose from. I experienced a problem while staying and they went above and beyond to help. The bottles of water in our room were welcomed with open arms. How many times do you get to the hotel and forget to get something to drink. I loved my stay, more important beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Hello, Ana! I love the title of your TripAdvisor post reading “Home away from home.” My team and I have a huddle each week and go over the importance of being portrayed to our wonderful guests as being truly their home away from home. I’m so excited to see that you felt that way during your visit with us. We actually implemented the bottled waters in the rooms not too long ago because we truly feel that this is an important amenity our guests should have, free of charge. As always, our guests are greeted with big smiles by each team member during their stay at the Hampton Inn New Bern. We hope to welcome you “home” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPaso
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

What a beautiful room. High ceilings, clean room, big bathroom...just wonderful. If I had to pick one thing wrong the bed could have been softer but it was still comfy. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Greetings from the “Fabulous” Hampton Inn in New Bern! We appreciate your wonderful recommendation to our future travelers regarding how much you enjoyed our accommodations. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardwick, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Traveling with my husband and teenage son,stopped here on our road trip to Charlston, South Carolina. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk. The room was clean, but small. We had two very tiny double beds. The bathroom was clean, but very small. Breakfast was free and decent. The coffee was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Greetings from beautiful New Bern! Thank you for traveling all the way from South Carolina to our wonderful town with your family to stay with us. I’m sorry to see that we are classified as being “dated” as we have completed a lobby renovation less than a year ago. People are actually quite surprised to find that we are in fact over 20 years old! We take a lot of pride in our hotel by providing the best for our guests, clean and comfortable accommodations, delicious hot breakfast, and friendly hospitality professionals around every corner ready to satisfy your every need. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you choose the beautiful Hampton Inn the next time you’re in New Bern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very accommodating employees; Staff was helpful with check-in. We arrived really late and my children were hungry-When we checked in, the employee on duty fixed my boys waffles and gave them milk to satisfy until breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette H, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Bern, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Hello, Alex! I’m glad my team was able to make you and your family some waffles after a day of travel! No one likes to sleep on an empty stomach, especially some hungry boys. I’m happy that we are able to accommodate you from the very start. A “great job” indeed by one of my team members and I’ll make sure they are praised for their exceedingly helpful act of true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Bern

Address: 200 Hotel Drive, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#1 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our New Bern, North Carolina hotel offers home comforts in our bright, spacious guest rooms, such as our clean and fresh Hampton bed®, 32-inch flat-screen HDTV and free Wi-Fi. A microwave and mini-fridge, hairdryer and iron with ironing board are included for your convenience. Accessible rooms are also available at our hotel.Wake up each morning feeling refreshed and enjoy Hampton’s complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® breakfast bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Take a swim in our outdoor pool and exercise in our fitness center. At Hampton Inn New Bern we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New Bern Hotel New Bern
New Bern Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn New Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.