We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn - New Bern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn New Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn New Bern to your Saves list
Hampton Inn New Bern
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Hotel Drive, New Bern, NC 28562   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn - New Bern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One expects a clean above-average room when staying at the Hampton Inn, and the Hampton Inn at New Bern does indeed provide such accomodations. The front desk staff is friendly although it appears to be under-staffed to a degree.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a pleasant lady - extremely professional - who put us immediately at ease. She provided a map of the area, pointing the way to the historic district after she had ascertained that was where we wanted to go, and made several helpful suggestions as to restaurants (even providing a discount card for one of the pricier ones). The front desk was always willing to attempt to assist us with any request.

The free hot breakfast was free and hot, but was attended by a staff who did not set out enough hot food to allow for the attendance. The staff also began the removal of the breakfast items about fifteen minutes before the scheduled closing time... even though people were still arriving. We felt rushed during our breakfasts there and did not enjoy a relaxing breakfast during our stay.

Speaking of relaxation, we like to go out and enjoy the area during the morning, eat lunch and then return to our room for a siesta in the early afternoon... standard fare for most older travelers. The problem was that the housekeeping staff removed the used linen from the rooms about 10 - 11, but did not return to finish the cleaning until 3 or 4. We could not relax knowing that there would be a knock on the door at any moment and we would have to vacate the room for cleaning. The service was always good, but perhaps a schedule which allows for the whole cleaning process to take place at one time would put everyone at ease.

If you are looking for a clean room at a good price - one that is convenient to all areas of New Bern - then the Hampton Inn is a good bet... just don't let them run you off from your breakfast!

Room Tip: Upper floor on the parking lot side of the hotel was very pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    42
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
68
51
15
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hampton Inn had excellent service and along with help provided. The rooms were clean and the staff was willing to help in any way they could. The staff made excellent recommendations for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was very happy with the hotel and the price. The kids loved it. It wasn't too far away from the historic sites we wanted to see. We went in May and the outdoor pool was still a bit cold but the kids swam anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAvannah, GA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very nice hotel. Staff was friendly. Room was excellent. aesthethics--Very pleasing Felt safe and enjoyed the stay City of New Bern, N.C. is a lovely old historic city and the Hampton was a great place to stay. Will stay there again . Reservation was easy online and my key was waiting when I arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had to change and rearrange our reservation berfore our arrival. Already here we received perfect customer service by Ron and Caroline.

Located just off highway 70, the hotel was easy to find. Very warm welcome at the front desk. Got a room directly on the ground floor which was really convenient with the luggage. The room was also very quiet. Furniture a bit old but everything clean and fresh. Comfortable beds. Didn´t like the connecting doors, rarely seen at Hampton, but everything was quiet.

We enjoyed the small outdoor pool after a long drive.

As always good Hampton breakfast with nice attendants.

Really friendly service by all staff, really enjoyed it! Great service! Can only recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms off Highway 70 tend to be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, but the service we received was incredible. A woman named Caroline at the front desk checked us in, lent us a hotel umbrella for a rainstorm that swept up, and provided the friendliest service i've ever received at a hotel. In the unlikely event that we'll be back in new bern, I wont stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stay at this location every year. The service here is always excellent and the staff does a great job in making sure we are very well looked after. Caoline at the desk is always very cordial and makes sure we have everything we need. Our stay is always GREAT!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Bern

Address: 200 Hotel Drive, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Bern
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our New Bern, North Carolina hotel offers home comforts in our bright, spacious guest rooms, such as our clean and fresh Hampton bed®, 32-inch flat-screen HDTV and free Wi-Fi. A microwave and mini-fridge, hairdryer and iron with ironing board are included for your convenience. Accessible rooms are also available at our hotel.Wake up each morning feeling refreshed and enjoy Hampton’s complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® breakfast bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Take a swim in our outdoor pool and exercise in our fitness center. At Hampton Inn New Bern we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New Bern Hotel New Bern
New Bern Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn New Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.